Cross country recap!

September 17, 2009 at 5:29 am Leave a comment

Well today I ran the school cross country for the first time in my entire LIFE. So that alone is a serious achievement for me.
UNFORTUNATELY, It didn’t go too well for me, for reasons which are entirely my own fault.
The worst thing that I did today was not drinking water. I had my 1.5 liter bottle with me as usual, but because I have this ridiculous fear of having to pee whilst running, I didn’t drink any of it. So the only liquid I had had all day was a cup of strong coffee at 7 in the morning.
It did not go down well at ALL. 
I felt absolutely dreadful through the entire duration of the short run because I was running in the boiling hot sun feeling dehydrated and suffering Acid Reflux. I felt like at any time I was going to vomit acid.
YUCK. I had to WALK a little bit of the way because I was in too much pain, I was so disappointed in myself.
Another bad mistake I made was not wearing sunblock. It was boiling hot and the sun was less than forgiving on my bare, exposed arms, legs, ears and face and even though I don’t think I got sunburnt, it was on my mind the entire time. I hate getting sunburnt because it’s so bad for you.
Finally, I need to start running regularly on rough-terrain. At one point in the track we had to run through a paddock, and the ground was so bumpy and uneven, I was terrified I was going to twist an ankle.
Maybe next time I’ll tape up my ankles?
I also wish I’d worn a hairband to hold back my fringe because when I was running through the paddock it was ten times more difficult to concentrate on my footing because I couldn’t see properly.


Overall, I came 27th. Now that is still a massive achievement for me πŸ™‚ Because in my history with cross-country, I’ve never made an effort and I always wound up coming within the last TEN people.
That’s embarrassing.
So despite the less than favourable conditions, I’m happy with my placing πŸ™‚
I know I could’ve done much better if I had’ve taken in to consideration those factors, but what can you do?
Next year I’ll do even better.


Some things I’d change or will do better next year:
1. Stay hydrated throughout the day and bring a small water bottle with me.
2. Tie ALL my hair back
3. Wear plenty of sunblock
4. Wear less heat absorbing clothing
5. Train on uneven surfaces more often.


I’m a little embarrassed that as a runner I didn’t do better, but it’ll give me a chance to prove myself next time.

Entry filed under: running, sun safety. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Interval training.. ugghhh RIP Harlow my baby :'(

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

September 2009
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


