10k, here I come!

September 25, 2009 at 8:35 pm Leave a comment

First day of the school holidays today, doesn’t even feel like it really.. There’s so much to do these holidays that is school related, that it doesn’t even feel like a holiday! I’ve got to study for at least 30 minutes everyday to prepare for exams, I’m running A LOT more lately and I’m concentrating on speed and distance training, I’m trying to get my blog off the ground (will hopefully have a camera soon!) and I’m traveling a lot with my Mumma.

Today I’m very excited because I’ll be running my first 10k! That the furtherest I have ever run and I can’t wait to see how I go. My guess is that today it should take me around 1 hour, 10 minutes because I’ll be going very very slow like yesterday. Since I’ve never run that distance before, I don’t know how I’ll need to pace myself for it. I want to go slow so I can make sure that I can finish the whole thing actually RUNNING, and not burn out 6 k’s in.

I’m about to map out my run, so I’m very excited. I’m wondering if I should perhaps bring  a little snack and a water bottle? I’ll be running for over an hour, so maybe it would do me some good to have that there. There is truly nothing I hate more than getting hungry when I’m out running. It’s such an awful feeling and I physically cannot continue without food. It totally ruins the workout.

I woke up naturally at 6.30 this morning! That’s insane! It’s good though, If I can maintain an early body clock, then I won’t have an issue when I go back to school when the holidays have finished.

I must say, I’m a tad nervous about how my knees will go on this long run… Yesterday when I was coming to the end of my 7k, throughout the last Kilometer, I was in MASSIVE PAIN! I almost couldn’t finish. Hopefully that won’t be TOO much of an issue today..

I plan to try some of Caitlin from HealthyTippingPoint.com‘s tips for muscle exercises to help prevent knee pain since she suffers the same thing:

Any ideas on healthy snacks and treats I can take on runs when I need to refuel?

I’ll post a blog of the 10k recap later! 🙂

Entry filed under: running, Whakatane. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Holidays are here! 10k run recap.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

September 2009
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


