Conformist Society.

September 26, 2009 at 8:37 pm Leave a comment

I’m going to warn you in advance, in this particular blog post there is content that may offend some readers.
Please take that into consideration before continuing to read.

God, there’s something that’s always kinda bothered me, and every now and then I’ll speak out on it, but usually it’s something I just kinda take on the chin and shut up about.

But today it’s really starting to piss me off.

It’s how much of a “Conformist Society” we live in today. It’s so tragic. I’ve never been one to conform to the “ways of society”, and as a result I’ve felt very isolated which has been a huge contributing factor to my massive dislike of High School, but as I’ve always said, I would rather be a complete loner and be staying true to myself than following the latest trend just so I can “fit in”.

I’m writing a blog post about this because there’s a new trend arising in the small town I live in, and I’m not going to say what that trend is, but the saddest thing I’ve heard in ages was this, I was reading about it and one girl I know had literally written: “Well it seems like everyone else is doing it so now I’m doing it too”.

That’s so shit on so many levels.

I actually wanted to throw something at her, but being the internet an’ all that would’ve been a bit hard lol.

Whatever happened to embracing your own interests and hobbies rather than having Society decide what they are for you??
Jeez people! Have a little originality!

A prime example of how I’m isolated as  result of refusing to conform, is that every weekend + holidays or whatever, the girls my age go out and get totally wasted. Hit the booze… and then the floor. Seriously, that’s what some of them do every single weekend.

Now I’m sorry, but that type of lifestyle just isn’t going to work for me, whichever way you slice it.
For me, instead of going out and getting pissed, I go out and run for an hour or so. I plan meals, I blog about it, I hang out with my friends WITHOUT booze. I am perfectly capable of having a fantastic time without getting drunk.

It’s pathetic how many people truly can’t understand how I’m able to enjoy myself without booze.

It’s also pathetic how many people are reliant on alcohol to have a good time.

I’m grateful to have found a group of amazing individuals that have become really good friends of mine. We share common interests and values and we have the best of times without alcohol.

It drives me crazy how freaking MAINSTREAM high school is. Grr, and it’s EVERYWHERE you go too! It’s not like you can move cities and you’ll be free of it. This disgusting conformist attitude exists everywhere on the planet. You just have to learn how to put up with it and avoid giving in.
That’s what I do.

Anyway, after that little rant, onto more positive things 🙂

Such as the fact that Robert is coming to WHK today! I haven’t seen him in months so I’m really excited to go for coffee and a catch up with him. Also I plan to ring Karla today and make some plans. I think I’ll wait till around 11 though… Not sure what time she’ll surface hahaha.

Man, today is supposed to be my running “rest day”, but I’m finding it really difficult not to lace up my shoes and get out there, because I’ve been reading all these wonderful and motivating Race Recaps on other healthy living blogs and because it’s such a beautiful day!! It’s been a long time coming, it’s been pouring for the last WEEK.

I just have to remember that if I rest properly like I should, then on Tuesday I’ll be able to totally SMASH my 5k PR 🙂 I can’t wait!

We’re going to Hamilton on Thursday which I’m really excited about. I love traveling.
I really need to focus on getting some study done though…

Anyways, that’s enough from me for now. Have a LOVELY Sunday, dear readers 🙂

Entry filed under: Nutrition, personal record, race, running, Whakatane. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

10k run recap. New 5k PR! :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

September 2009
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


