New 5k PR! :)

September 27, 2009 at 10:12 pm 1 comment

I’m really excited because today I broke my 5k PR (Personal Record)! Only by a minute, but everything counts. I don’t believe in minimizing achievements. My old PR was 34 minutes, something, and my new one was 33:10:7 (I timed it properly this time). I was pretty darn happy to get back. I was SO exhausted by the end because I made the mistake of starting out too fast because I was so enthusiastic about breaking my PR, and so as a result I started to burn out around the 3rd K. Seriously, all I wanted to do was stop and walk, but I HATE stopping to walk. I feel like I’ve let myself down and completely failed if I start to walk when I’m out running, so I just pushed through as best I could. I was red faced, sweaty, stiff and sore by time I got back. I’ve never been so grateful to get home and be able to stretch it out!

Next time when I do it I’ll start out slower and then completely let loose about 2K’s in, that way hopefully I should be able to cut another minute off my time.

Today I tried out Powerade Isotonic powder for the first time. Before my run I mixed one scoop of the powder with 250ml of water (as advised). I wanted to try it so I could feel reassured that I was adequately hydrated. I am SO glad I did this. I don’t think I would have been able to push through the last 2Ks of my run if I hadn’t had this before I left. I definitely think it gave me an energy boost, and for the first time EVER when I’ve been out running, I didn’t feel like I was starting to get dehydrated. I had another glass when I got back for quick rehydration because I have a bad habit of forgetting to rehydrate properly. It’s awesome stuff! I feel heaps better now after my run than I usually do. It truly is incredibly important to make sure you stay well-hydrated. I’ve also stopped drinking two cups of coffee a day. That stuff just wasn’t working for me :/

Tomorrow I think I’ll run a 10k again. The weather really is not on my side these days! This last WEEK when I have been running, it’s been pouring, but I went anyway. I don’t actually mind running in the rain, I think it tends to make me run faster for some reason and I don’t get overheated, so it’s alright. My biggest concern is actually my Ipod, I don’t want it to get damaged. But Caitlin at healthytippingpoint.com gave me a suggestion to put it in a Ziploc bag to keep it dry, so I think I’ll give that a shot. Yesterday the weather was beautiful!! But go figure it was on my REST day 😦 Today it rained again. Just my luck. Oh well, a little rain never hurt anyone I guess.

Last night we had an awesome BBQ up at Granddad’s, because we had some Scottish relatives fly over to visit. I hadn’t met them before so it was cool to have a catch up. Mum made this AMAZING Asian Salad which I filled half my plate with. I made some Kumara and Potato fries with an improvised recipe. I was quite proud because they turned out really good πŸ™‚

I had Salad, my Fries and some Venison, but I only had two bites of the meat, I just ate the salad and chips πŸ˜€

I’m going to go ring Karla now and see if she wants to watch some movies. I swear she has a bigger DVD collection than the DVD shop lol. It seems like the kinda day for DVD’s πŸ™‚

Have a wonderful Monday!

Entry filed under: baking, goals, Nutrition, personal record, running, Whakatane. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Conformist Society. AMAZING day :)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  September 27, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    Congrats on your PR! Awesome accomplishment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

September 2009
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


