Hardest 10k I’ll probably ever have done.

September 29, 2009 at 1:28 am Leave a comment

Ugh, well, this morning’s 10k was not very enjoyable at ALL. The only way I managed to complete it was by pushing myself mentally, and using good, positive mantras. Also, I was contemplating finishing at 5k instead because I was so worn out and run down, but when I got to the 5k point I said I’d do 7, what’s two more k’s? Then once I got to seven I said I’d go on to do 10 coz it was only 3 more k’s. And thank god I looked at it like that, or else I don’t think i’d have made it.

I took a water bottle with me today for the first time, I filled it up with Powerade instead though for fast hydration when I needed it. It was good to have drinks there, but it was annoying to have to hold it the whole way. I’ll use a camelbak next time.

I ran very very slow today because I was not feeling well and I was lacking motivation, I completed the 10k in 1hr, 20mins. That’s not to crash hot… But I’m not bothered because at least I managed to finish. That’s all that matters is that I motivated myself enough to run the full distance.

I HATED the new running shorts I bought the other day. God they were terrible and I plan to take them back tonight. I shouldn’t have run in them, it added to my bad mood and lack of motivation because they were uncomfortable and ill-fitting. Bloody awful to be honest and I will never use them again.

I was so relieved to get back home and I couldn’t really believe I had managed to finish the full 10 Kilometers. I had a fantastic stretch and then an AMAZING shower that I didn’t want to get out of. Felt so good to relax, wash off the sweat and just chill.

After that, I cooked myself the yummiest lunch and I’m so proud of it! I’m starting to just improvise with recipes these days, and today I decided I wanted vegetables because I never have cooked veges for lunch. I chopped up some carrots and fried them in a pan with a splash of Canola oil, some Moroccan Seasoning and Lemon Pepper seasoning. GOD it was good! It was so yum, I’m cooking it for everyone tonight for dinner 🙂
Aswell as the carrots, I made an omelette with cheese and milk and had a small tub of yoghurt.

Was definitely a good lunch and has kept me sufficiently full till now 🙂 it’s 10 past two in the afternoon and I had lunch at 11.30am, so that’s pretty good!

I just had one of those amazing, melt-in-your-mouth Banana and Peanut Butter smoothies. I’m so addicted to those right now. Who new Peanut Butter could be used for so many things??

After lunch I had my Dentist appointment 😦 I hate going to the dentist. I walked into town and posted two Operation Beautiful notes on the way 🙂 A little pick-me-up for me and whoever reads them.

It was so dumb, my dentist appointment lasted a full total of like 2 minutes. No kidding. There was absolutely nothing wrong with my teeth and she sent me along on my way with a tube of toothpaste and a tooth  brush lol. YAY.

I really hate Dentists. It so icky to have someone you barely know, all up in your personal space, their face ten centimeters away from yours with their hands all in your mouth with their creepy tools, scraping away at your teeth with that weird hook thing. YUCK YUCK YUCK. I don’t like it at all.

Good thing I don’t have to go again for another year unless my teeth start having problems! (Which they won’t, I have brilliant dental hygiene).

After  my yucky encounter with the dentist, I moseyed on over to Kope. Had a wander through the video shop and decided to come back later to rent some since it’s $2 Tuesday.
Then I went to visit Mum at work because the hospital is seriously like 400 meters from the video shop. She gave me a banana and a nice cold glass of water (banana which I used for my KILLER smoothie), we had a little chat for a bit and then I decided to head off.

It’s been such a beautiful day thankfully and I feel like I’ve been good and productive 🙂 Yesterday was amazing too and I’m looking forward to tomorrow because I’m hanging out with Robert and Emma again. My family have decided to go to Hamilton NEXT thursday because this one wasn’t working for all parties involved in the little excursion. I can’t wait. I have a friend coming and I’m counting my lucky stars that he’ll be able to make it.

Tomorrow I’m going to run an easy 5k. I don’t wanna push myself too hard, especially not after today. Gotta take it easy on my poor little leggies. Tomorrow expect a blog post on Body Confidence. I’ve been inspired by a few other healthy bloggers 🙂

Right now I have to go study, clean my room and read tonnes of books I have piled up :/

As for you? Have a great day.

Entry filed under: Nutrition, running, Whakatane. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

AMAZING day :) Positive anything is better than Negative nothing.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

September 2009
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


