Positive anything is better than Negative nothing.

September 30, 2009 at 3:03 am 1 comment

The title of this post is a quote by Albert Einstein. I’ve had a really stink and stressful day, I decided to cheer myself by looking up and writing down positive mantras, affirmations and quotes.

It really did help to be honest ๐Ÿ™‚
Here is a list of some of my favourites:

-I understand that no one is more important than I am, and that no one else is less important.

-I am strong, calm and confident.

-Everyday is a fresh start

-“When everything seems to be going against you, remember an airplane takes off against the wind, not with it” – Henry Ford.

– “Whether you think you can or think you can’t, you are right” – Henry Ford

-“If you want to live a happy life, tie to to a goal, not to people or things” – Albert Einstein.

(One of my all time favourites:) -“If we did all the things we were capable of doing, we would literally astound ourselves” – Thomas Edison.

-“There is only one personal who could ever make you happy, and that person is you” – David Burns.

-Every chance taken is another chance to win.

Aren’t they great? I found they really inspired me and picked up my mood. Some people are just so darn philosophical lol. What would we do without them? ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, I’ll start from the beginning of my day so you can get an idea as to why it turned out so bad…

Well, I woke up at 7.30am, reeealllyyyy tired, but I got up anyway because I knew I had a busy day, I had to go for a run and then I had a friend coming over sometime after 10am, so I needed to shower, have a snack and clean my room before they got here.

Well, I had two cups of coffee and two slices of toast with peanut butter on them as pre-run fuel, then a glass of water, checked my emails, read some of the blogs I follow, then off I went at around 9am.

Well BOY HOWDY did I run like the wind this time! I’m not sure what it was, but that’s the fastest I have ever run 5k’s. I think my time was around 28-30 Minutes. That’s a new PR! But I didn’t time it so I don’t know for sure.

I’m surprised I ran so well because I woke up feeling quite sick and when I was running I was starting to feel worse and worse, and at times, thought I was going to vomit (I blame it on the disgusting fried food that I ate last night at the quiz night at Spot 81. It was the only food available and my post-run hunger was kicking in and I was absolutely RAVENOUS). I just stared up ahead, zoned out and thought about anything BUT running whilst my feet pounded the pavement. It was really good that I managed to distract myself, because otherwise I would’ve focused on the negative things like sore legs, feeling tired and sick.

Also, I ran without my Ipod this time, just so I could focus on other things, and I actually think it was a really good idea. I was able to concentrate my focus away from running and think of things unrelated that made me happy.
It worked a charm ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, I was VERY relieved to get home and stretch and drink up my glass of Powerade, then, I received a phone call from Mum who was at work…..

She told me there had been a Tsunami warning issued to us in New Zealand because of the MASSIVE 8.2 on the richter scale earthquake in Samoa. I had in fact heard the alarm go off, but was so puffed from running so hard that I didn’t really process it.

At first, I wasn’t worried, I was just like “Ok, sweet as”, and went back to stretching. But then I went on twitter, and there were News Reports about it and I was home alone and started to freak out. Everyone was evacuating and moving to high ground and I had no way of getting there.

Then mum rang again, and this time she REAALLY scared me. She rang and said “I just asked Mark to come back and get you and take you to high ground… I care about you very much and I want you to be safe. Or I thought it would be a good idea for you and [insert name of particular friend here (sorry, I can’t disclose who it is)] to go up to Kohi point right now… I’d hate for anything to happen to you” or something along those lines. I really starting freaking out after that because she made it sound like I might drown. I was extra frightened because I have a tendency to have really really awful, vivid and horrific dreams, and once I had one that a Tsunami hit my town and caused massive damage.

I thought “Oh god, my nightmare is about to come true….”

Thankfully, I went on facebook and had a few friends reassure me that we were pretty much safe and that even if it did hit, it would be really small so we have nothing to worry about.
I was so relieved!!!!!!!

I flicked on the news and they also reassured us that it wouldn’t be very big and wouldn’t cause much damage because it coincides with low-tide.

I felt heaps better and finally got to shower after my run haha. Best shower of my life. Though I wasn’t feeling very friendly with water at the time.

After that scare (the whole palaver ย lasted about 2 hours), I went into my room, relaxed on my bed and read my book “Deliciously Natural” for about an hour while I waited for my friend to show up. Which was a lost cause, because they never did.

That just added to my bad mood. I felt really hurt and as a result, angry! That’s when I started looking up positive affirmations and quotes and now I feel a lot more relaxed.

All that was topped off by me feeling disgustingly sick all day. I could barely eat lunch, which I had at 12pm, (pan cooked carrot, spinach, silverbeet and parsley with two eggs and a small tub of yoghurt), it is now 4pm and I’ve only been hungry for a cracker.

I really need to eat because I need to refuel after my run. But I just don’t think I can stomach anything atm… I was guttered because I was going to hang out with Emma and Robert and I started walking to town but just felt so sick that I had to turn around, come home and cancel ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I was really really guttered.

I had an afternoon nap to try and chill out, but I didn’t sleep very well.

Anyway, here I am writing all of this. It’s been an emotional day all round and I’m glad it ending.

I’ll update more later ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a lovely night everyone.

Have you ever lived in an area that was issued with a Tsunami warning? How did you react?

Entry filed under: Nutrition, personal record, running, Whakatane. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Hardest 10k I’ll probably ever have done. October Ab Challenge 2009!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Body Confidence. « Jenny Likes To Run  |  October 2, 2009 at 4:39 am

    […] find positive mantras/affirmations and quotes never fail to lift my mood check out my blog post here for more information on […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

September 2009
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


