First time going to the gym + “October Challenge” Day 1.

October 1, 2009 at 10:56 am 1 comment

Oh. My. GOD. I have had such an insanely busy day. It’s 11.25pm and this is the only time I’ve had all day to sit here and tell you what I’ve been up to!

It’s been busy, but very fun and productive πŸ™‚ It started out like this….

I woke up at 8am, thanks to my alarm, had a cup of coffee at 10 past, checked the latest blog posts of the blogs I follow, then at 8.30 I had breaky. It was two pieces of wholemeal toast with Peanut Butter and Tomato on top. So yummy!

Peanut butter is officially my all time favourite food product. It’s so versatile! You can pretty much use it for/with anything. It’s really good for pre-work out fuel and snacks afterwards. Definitely an essential item in my humble opinion.

After breakfast I sorted out a little bag of almonds + a water bottle with 500mls of home-mixed powerade, because I was off to the gym for the first time in my LIFE to take a body pump class πŸ˜€ “Bodypump: is the original barbell class that strengthens your entire body. This 60 minute workout challenges all your major muscle groups by using the best weight-room exercises like squats, presses, lifts and curls”.

The class started at 9.30am so I arrived there at 20 past. Well.. It was not off to a great start. Within 5 minutes of being there I had tripped over and gotten nasty carpet burn on my knee… YAY. But it wasn’t so bad because all the other woman there were so kind and friendly! One woman in particular who I believe was Canadian, was unbelievably kind. She got me ice for my knee (thank god), a towel for my bench (which you’re sposed to pay $2 to hire), and set up my bar, my dumbbells, and my bench! Also, whilst we were doing the workout she gave me little tips here and there to make it easier + more effective.

I had wanted to thank her at the end of the class but she disappeared before I got the chance 😦

Anyway, I had an absolute BLAST during the Bodypump class! It was SO SO much fun, perfect level of difficulty for me, had an AWESOME instructor called Robin, (who I later went and spoke to to thank her for being so awesome lol) and I loved it because I’ve never done strength training before and it’s so drastically different from the exercise I’m use to, being running.

I felt great to change things up a bit.

I have developed a new love for that class and I shall definitely be returning. This Saturday as a matter of fact, for the 8.30am session. I loved lifting weights, I felt so strong and confident. It was an excellent confidence booster πŸ™‚

After the class ended, I walked home and got back at around 5 to 11 because I spent ten extra minutes at the gym putting away my gear and chatting to the instructor.
I sat down, Iced my knee for another 15 minutes, and then mum announced that we were all going for a bush walk and I was coming too. Yay. I protested ever so slightly because my poor Quads were still quivering from all the lunges haha. But nevertheless, I came anyway.

Our walk lasted about 45 minutes all up and was COMPLETELY up hill the entire way there. I’m not even kidding. Not even one little bit of downhill, completely uphill with quite a few stairs. It felt good to keep moving and prevent me from getting stiff and sore, but I still wasn’t 100% because I was also STARVING!!! I’d had the almonds I packed once I got home and after we came back from our walk we didn’t get home till 1.30pm, so naturally, after all that exercise, I was absolutely ravenous.

The walk was totally worth it. We walked up to Kohi Point which is where I’ve been quite a few times before with a very very close friend of mine, so that lookout is very dear to my heart and it was cool to walk there.

Once we got back, I wolfed down lunch, which was a wholegrain bread sandwich with cottage cheese with chives, shredded chicken, tomato and mayonnaise + a pear. After that I showered, it felt SOOO good. I was finally clean and smelling like roses again!!

Once I got out of the shower I contacted Karla and arranged to go over to her house for a couple of hours. At about 20 past 2 I biked over to her place which takes about 10-15 minutes each way since we live on completely opposite sides of town. I was feeling a bit sore but pretty much fine. I got to hers and we had a fantastic catch up. I love having great catch ups with friends where you just sit, talk and listen to good music πŸ™‚ I hadn’t really stopped all day so It was nice to just chillax for a bit.

I biked back home at 4.50pm because I knew I had to clean my room, it was looking disgusting and I had big plans for clearing it out.

I got home and cleaned my room for about an hour, then we had dinner, which was so delicious, it was Mum’s fantastic Asian Salad, but this time she added a few bit of beef into it. YUMMA! Β Then my friend came over and we arranged to go to the hot pools together with my mum and brother later.

I stripped all the sheets off my bed and then off we went to the hot pools! (It was 8.00pm by now). My friend agreed to meet us out there and they did. We chilled for about 30-60 minutes before coming home at 10 coz they close.

I got home, snacked on some leftover salad, had a glass of milk and resumed cleaning my bedroom.
I am happy to report that bedroom is now spick and span!!! Thank GOD lol. It’s been a while πŸ™‚

NOW. Back to my “October Ab Challenge”. Today for Making Abs Fun, I worked those babies in BodyPump πŸ™‚ We did crunches, bicycle crunches, push ups and a few more exercises which I thought were excellent. I will be in some serious amounts of pain in the morning, but it’s totally worth it πŸ™‚

Stay tuned for more Ab workouts tomorrow!

I have a Duathalon style workout planned for tomorrow πŸ˜‰ so I’ll hit you up with that. It’ll be exciting and intense. I love changes up my workouts. I’ve decided not to set my alarm tomorrow morning, I shall wake up when my body feels ready and well rested πŸ™‚

Have a fantabulous evening!

Do you have any tips on “working those abs”? What is your favourite form of exercise?

Entry filed under: Fitness, goals, Music, Nutrition, running, Whakatane. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

October Ab Challenge 2009! Body Confidence.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. caitlin  |  October 1, 2009 at 11:18 am

    oh i need to do that challenge again, too!! i forgot about it — it was so fun to do and to blog about, i hope you have fun with it!! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


