Trip to Hamilton Recap!

October 10, 2009 at 12:14 am Leave a comment

WELL, I have just had the greatest 2 days EVER! 😀

I woke up to my alarm at a shocking 7am yesterday morning, and I was feeling pretty excited, so I got cracking. I showered, breakfasted (a small bowl of canned peaches and a small handful of almonds), and packed my things.
It was beautiful and sunny when we left and I got more and more depressed as I saw us drive away from paradise and into hell 😦

We went via Rotorua, and it was AWFUL! It was raining and the roads were so windy I felt so sick.
But we made it in fairly good time, I just listened to my ipod and talked to mum about toxic vegetables and other nutrition-related topics lol.

We arrived at Penny’s (my sister) at about 11 am and it was SO GOOD to get out and stretch my legs. I was HUNGRY,  I sifted through my sisters cupboards, but saw no suitable snacks that would be of any real nutritional value lol. So I ate an apple and two oreo-type biscuits and decided to wait to get into town and eat something more substantial.

It was great to see my beautiful little NephewTe Mania again. He’s almost two now, I can’t believe how fast time flies.
I remember the night he was BORN…

DSC_0038

Ok, so that’s the morning after, but still, you get the idea 🙂

He’s now big, running around and almost talking! He can’t speak full sentences, but he knows his manners 🙂 and he knows what things are called and he does what he’s told! If you tell him to put his stuff away, he will actually do it ^.^ He’s the sweetest thing.

Anyway, so we waited around at Penny’s for about half an hour for my other sister Bronwyn to arrive. It was FREEEZZZINNNGGG in Hamilton! When I left Whakatane I was wearing shorts, a long sleeve and a jersey, once I got there I changed into long pants and put on an extra thick jacket. COLD COLD COLD.

Once Bronwyn got there we had a good catch up 🙂 I haven’t seen her in MONTHS, so it was cool.

Then we all moseyed onwards to town… all seven of us lol. We did some shopping Kmart, then I started getting my bitch on coz I was so hungry (hey, it was 1.00pm and I hadn’t eaten since 7.30am and all I had was a small bowl of peach slices! lol), so we went to the food court…

Oh. My. God. I had the BEST feed of my life. I had a falafel Kebab. I got a mini-kebab and it was still stuffed full of yummy veges and two falafels and yum sauces 😀 I was the happiest camper alive.

Then I went to “Tank” for a smoothie. Bronwyn had one and the cup said “Guilt Free, they’re supposed to be healthy juices, so I wandered on over to check out what they had to offer. I got a “Tankup” which was something like peaches, mango, banana, frozen yoghurt + a multivitamin shot. It was good, not great, but definitely the best healthy smoothie I’ve bought before. I was satisfied 🙂

We went to a few more shops after that. Mum and I went to check out a running shoes shop. I’ve heard good things about them because they fit the perfect shoe to your foot type/shape etc. They do a foot scan and then once they’ve found some shoes to accommodate your foot, they make you walk on a treadmill to see which way your foot goes. I was impressed. I think I’ll go there next time I need shoes.

Then mum and I went off on our own to the Body Shop so I could buy a present for somebody very special 🙂

After that, we all met up at the warehouse. I bought a Womans Health mag to keep me occupied whilst Mark and Mum went motorbike shopping. Learnt some interesting things actually.

When they were done, we popped round to my Nana and Poppas house to say hello because I haven’t seen them for MONTHS. It was really cool to see them.

Later, once we were home, Dad came over to take me out to dinner and a movie. He also brought along his best mate Collin, and that was ok with me because Collin turned out to be one of the funniest people I have ever met in my life.

The night was definitely a new experience for me lol… I have all new insight into the male mind… perhaps too much?? :S

I had a 6 inch Subway Sandwich for dinner and a 250ml bottle of Keri’s orange juice.

We went to see “500 Days Of Summer”, and I’m not gonna lie, it was quite disappointing. It was supposed to be a romance comedy, but at the end I was depressed as hell. It didn’t have a very happy ending. So I wasn’t all that satisfied with it.

I had a ratchet sleep. I was stuck with the stupid couch. I don’t actually think I slept or more than an hour to be honest. I was awake 96% of the night.

I was up at SEVEN again the next morning thanks to the children… I had to rush a little bit to shower, have breakfast and pack all my things so mum and I could be out the door at 8.45 to go meet up with Marissa. A long time family friend, who in fact was one of the first people to hold me when I was born.

Breakfast was a bowl of fruit: two sliced up baby bananas, 1 sliced apple, sprinkled with walnuts.
FAILED to keep me full. I was hungry within half an hour and within an hour I was STARVING!!!

We looked around town for a while and then went to meet up with Marissa at Cafe Strata. It was so cool to see her, I didn’t even really recognize her. I haven’t seen her since Mum and Marks wedding 11 years ago.

CIMG1689_2

CIMG1690_2

I ordered a filo pastry with spinich and feta cheese. It came with a salad and dipping, I scrapped off the dipping and ate all the salad and ate 3/4 of the filo pastry.

After a couple more hours of exploring shops, mum and I went off to Tauranga. (The rest of the family had already left).

I was in a bit of a bad mood on the way there because I was sad to leave Dad once again and I’m starting to feel the stress of looming exams
So I found a Michael Jackson CD and BLASTED it all the way there 😀 I was soon cheered up. My favourite on the disc was definitely “Earth Song“, I played it on repeat like, 4 times! 🙂

It’s brilliant. Check it out:

Once we got there, we were having lunch at this amazingly beautiful house outside of Tauranga in Pahoia. It was AMAZINGG!!! We’re talking MILLION dollar house here.

A delicious lunch was ready and waiting, it was Quiche, Chicken, Salad, Bread, Olives and fruit. SO GOOD! I had a fairly big serving. Grandma Penny talked me into it 😉

We got home at around 5.30 pm from Tauranga. I fell asleep on the way home so the trip seemed really short. We unpacked, I caught up with a really close friend (who I bought the body shop product for. They LOVED it by the way).

I had another piece of Quiche once we got home (I’m a sucker for pastry, it’s shocking), so I was full and didn’t really need dinner. I just had a small cup of Granola and a glass of milk. I was satisfied 🙂 I had an early night, though I still didn’t sleep very well 😦 Oh well. I had an early start, so at least I got a little bit.

That’s all for now lovelies!

Have a fantastic last day and a quarter of the holidays 🙂

Entry filed under: Nutrition, Whakatane. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

“October Ab Challenge” Day 4 + New sport! Some good music for you :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


