Four down, One to go!

October 16, 2009 at 4:45 am 1 comment

Today I had my english and Music exams… English was easy peasy (mind you, I study for a good FIVE HOURS last night), but music sucked. I flunked that one HARD.

Yesterday I had Maths, and that was dreadful too. I felt like stabbing myself with my compass to put myself out of my uttermost MISERY!! There was so much stuff in there that we hadn’t covered in class. Later when I had finished, I went to see my math teacher and she said that stuff shouldn’t have even been in the test because she’d tried to get it taken out since we hadn’t learnt it yet. So yup, FAIL on the maths front.

I have one exam left which is Health. I’m sitting that one on Monday and it should take me about an hour.

On the positive side, I’ve been rewarding my hard efforts with exams by going for nice long runs πŸ™‚ Well, today wasn’t very long, but hey, quality, not quantity right?

Yesterday I went for about a 50 minute run. LOTS of hills and steps involved + torrential bloody rain which made it impossible to see where I was going properly. At one point, I had so much rain in my eyes, I was running with my eyes closed for about a Kilometer, I thought I was going to lose my footing and fall down the VERY VERY steep drop (We’re talking a good 50 meter vertical drop) to land on hard concrete at the bottom. Not so good.

But I was ok πŸ™‚ The rain eased off a little and I could see again! The whole route was about 7k’s and I would’ve been faster but it was up hills + steps and it was raining really hard. So I credit myself for my efforts πŸ™‚

I felt good afterwards too.

More than I can say for myself today anyway…

Today was just an easy 5k, but MAN was I exhausted. I think it was a combination of over-working my body (running is really hard on your body, throw trail runs into the mix and your poor little bod may not be able to handle the jandle), lack of sleep, stress and dehydration. But I’m always glad when I get back from having gone for a run. It’s really really satisfying to know you’ve done something good for yourself.

Still, tomorrow I shall take a rest day πŸ™‚

I have the day off on Tuesday! Yay! Happy days. I’ll go for a big run in the morning, then I’m treating myself to a hair appointment at 12.30pm. I haven’t had a trim in months and months, which is ages for me, and my hair is really starting to need it because when left unbrushed for over an hour, my hair gets so knotty, a family of Starlings could nest in it!

I never usually brush my hair, so the fact that I NEED to now, is a warning sign that things are getting out of hand! lol

I’m sticking to the bet I made though, I’m a girl of my word. I’m only getting a trim and getting it thinned out, and I have every intention of keeping it dark brown.
There’s no way I’m losing and going ranga!!

God, I’m going to have an absolutely HELLISH time running in the summer… even today, when we’re just into spring, it was SO HOT! Sweat was pouring off me and after a pathetic 20 minutes, I was dying for a drink. Obviously I didn’t have one on hand, so that complicated matters a little bit. I can deal with heat, but there are two things I’ll have to make sure I have for future sunny day runs, they are:

1. Sunblock– gotta protect your skin! Especially if you’re a road runner and are exposed to the sun on a very regular basis for long periods of time. The tan is hot till you hit 30… then it’s all a downhill slide from there. Also, think about the risks of skin cancer.

2. WATER!!! This is a must. It’s so important to stay hydrated on hot days when running. Without water you can’t function properly. Keep your body happy and healthy! I’ll be investing in a Camelbak over the holidays to make those long runs a little better πŸ™‚

Anyways, that’s all for today folks. Any tips on running in the Summer?

Entry filed under: Challenge, Fitness, goals, Music, Nutrition, race, running, sun safety, Whakatane. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Awesome workout songs! :) Fundraising?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Anon..  |  October 16, 2009 at 5:21 am

    You could try running later in the afternoon, so that it’s cooled down a bit. Try running just as it gets darker. Thats usually when I run.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


