My first race EVER, 10k recap!

October 25, 2009 at 2:49 am 1 comment

Well today was a really really exciting day for me, because…. I took part in my FIRST EVER RACE!
It was also the BEST run I’ve ever had in my life and I was so happy and satisfied with my efforts at the end 🙂

But let’s go back to the beginning…

I was really nervous when I woke up this morning at 7, but I just tried to mentally relax, I made a yum breakfast of Egg in the hole and toast with peanut butter and sliced strawberries. Was gooood.

We left at 8.30am and arrived about 15 minutes later. We registered ourselves and then the dog and then we waited around for a bit.

It was all new and exciting to me since I’ve never raced before. I stood around taking lots of photos 🙂

CIMG1807

Running conditions were absolutely PERRRFECT today. It wasn’t too hot and wasn’t too cold. It was a little bit cloudy which was good because it meant we didn’t have the sun beating down on us during our runs.

Last night I decided to run the 10k instead of the 5k as I had originally planned. I decided that I would because I know I’m capable, I’ve done it plenty of times before, 5k is too easy and I might as well make the most of the beautiful weather and awesome opportunity to race!

The race was along the beach, and I actually really enjoyed it. Though the scenery was mostly the same from 3k’s onwards, I found it really relaxing and I felt like I could really concentrate and focus.

Here’s me just before the race began.

CIMG1810

CIMG1812

It was sooo crowded at the start. People were backed up for ages. I kept thinking to myself “God, you’re planning to run a marathon in a year, imagine this amount of people times 100… damn…”

CIMG1816

CIMG1820

I was able to break the race up into separate distances which really helped time tick by and kept me motivated. Because the race was broken up into 3k, 5k and 10k, there were the 3 and 5k marks to turn around and go back to finish, and each time I reached one of these, I felt good knowing I only had X amount of K’s left.

They had a water station during this race which was AMAZING. Seriously, I never run with water, so being able to grab a cup and chug it back made such a huge difference. Truly. I have totally been underestimating the importance of staying hydrated whilst running. I’m not going to start thinking of ways I can carry water with me efficiently to help me go further and faster.

Mum caught a snap of me coming past after the 3k mark:

CIMG1829

I had a great playlist going too. Spring and Summer are the seasons for Rock N’ Roll for me. It’s when I become truly reconnected with my Guns N’ Roses, Led Zeppelin, Aerosmith, Slash’s Snakepit etc. So lately I’ve been running with what I’ve named my “Rock N Run” playlist. I had that blaring the whole way and it really helped me stay motivated. It also helped take my mind off the distance.

I felt great all throughout this run. No hip pain. No leg pain. I was well-hydrated and properly fueled. It was just a bloody decent run.

My feet got so wet though. Each time I had to run through a small body of water, my shoes would totally fill up and it would feel like I had weights attached to my ankles… damn.

I was so happy to reach the 10k turn point. It was easy from there. I totally picked up the pace and thrived on passing others and knowing I’d smashed my PR (personal record). I knocked a crazy FIFTEEN MINUTES off my usual PR!!! I finished in about 1hr, 5mins. I couldn’t believe it!!

I was about a kilometer from the finish line, and there was Mum with the camera 🙂

CIMG1833

Once I crossed the finish line, the volunteers handed me a cup of water and a huge banana, then I plonked myself on the ground in relief and stretched as best I could. I was exhausted because not only had I run faster with that distance than I ever have before, but it was on SAND. Sand sucks to run on when it’s soft. Thankfully, most of the way it was hard, but in the last little stretch it was soft which made it very difficult.

After stretching, I met up with Mum, Mark, Sam and the dog and we stuck around for the prizegiving.

Taking some nice lil’ photographs while we waited. We were waiting for two hours!

CIMG1835

I love this one because the dog looks like he’s smiling 😀 Looks like he’s in absolute heaven.

CIMG1842

As they drew the names for the spot prizes, which were actually really really good prizes, we grew more and more doubtful that we’d win anything. Then it got to the last prize, and the BIGGEST. It was a tent donated by Whakatane Outdoors that fits 7 people, the value of $750, they read out the name and who should win it? None other than OUR family! 😀 We were all happy campers, I’ll tell you that (lol, pun not intended).

It was an impressive thing too!

Here’s a photo when they were halfway through dismantling it for us to take home. I thought to take a picture just a little too late.

CIMG1844

We headed on home, making a stop at Rebel Sport first so I could buy some sole inserts for my running shoes for better arch support, some running socks and a couple of other things Mum wanted. I saw a running skirt and almost went mental! I’ve read all about them on blogs and I want one so bad. I was really happy to see that Rebel Stock them 🙂

They’re also hiring for Xmas at the moment, so I’m going to fix up my CV and apply 🙂 Sounds like the most perfect part-time job for me.

Anyway, that’s all for now lovelies. Hope you enjoyed reading about my kick ass day!

I’ll leave you with some photos of beautiful Ohope just before we left the race site.

CIMG1845

CIMG1846

CIMG1847

Entry filed under: personal record, race, running. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Gorgeous afternoon, yummy eats + my gorgeous kitten! Jazz is a STAR!

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


