What I’ve learnt from being a healthy living blogger.

November 4, 2009 at 5:10 am 1 comment

Ok, so I’ve been running this blog for 4 months now, and I thought I’d do a post on things I’ve learnt in those 4 months πŸ™‚

1. You are not alone in your endeavors to maintain a healthy lifestyle, there are thousands of people out there on the exact same mission.

2. It’s OKAY to enjoy food, as long as it’s the RIGHT food. When you’re feeling hungry- Eat! Just make sure it’s the right foods with the appropriate sized portions.

3. Ignore negative comments. Delete them straight away, don’t even bother reading them. They’re draining and a complete waste of time. I don’t even bother with them and they don’t affect me.

4. Love your body. Appreciate what you’ve got and what you’re capable of. Understand that everybody is different and learn to identify what is beautiful about YOU. In healthy blogging, you will never be judged or criticized for the way you look. Most blogs are friendly, welcoming and open minded πŸ™‚ and TOTALLY against fat-talk!

5. Be creative with your food. Explore different tastes, textures and ingredients. Use ideas from other food blogs.

6. Don’t be afraid to ask any of the popular bloggers for advice! I wanted some fundraising advice so I emailed Jenna at eatliverun.com and Caitlin from HealthyTippingPoint.com and they both responded quickly with helpful, friendly suggestions. I’ve also asked Megan at MegaNerdRun.com about running suggestions and Angela from OhSheGlows.com. These are all the big blog names and they’re lovely people! Don’t be afraid to talk to them.

7. Write about things you’re passionate about. It could be anything! A blog is a space for you to vent about anything that’s on your mind, and if it’s something you’re passionate about, you’ll get even more attention from it. Readers will be more interested when you talk about something you love.

8. When you don’t feel like running, lace up your shoes and DO IT ANYWAY. You’ll feel ten times better for it. Also, if you need the extra support, call for it and you will get lots of lovely people responding with kind, encouraging words πŸ™‚

9. When you feel like you’ve “fallen off the healthy living bandwagon”, don’t give up right there and then just because you had one indulgent day. Start off new from your VERY NEXT MEAL. Don’t leave it till the next day, or next week, start as soon as possible.

10. Blogging helps you stay motivated to eat right and exercise often. Otherwise it’s embarrassing for people to see you’ve been slacking!

11. Comments; positive OR negative, make you popular.

12. Blogging does tend to consume a large part of your time. That’s why I’ve limited myself to one blog post daily, as opposed to three. I always do it in my own time, not when I have guests present.

13. Do not restrict yourself to a particular blogging schedule. That makes it feel like a chore. Blog when you feel like you want to, when you want to, about what you want. Blog when you have a great idea for a blog post. Don’t make it a job or else it is hard to stay motivated to keep updating.

14. People will say mean things. Just ignore them, they obviously have issues within themselves that they need to address.

15. Blogging is a great way to unwind at the end of the day and de-stress. It is kind of therapeutic in a way…

16. There will always be amazing people there for you to support you through your blog. Someone will always benefit from what you have to say.

17. You can’t please everyone. It’s hard to be an honest blogger without offending at least someone. Not everyone shares the same point of view and you can’t define yourself based on what they may think.

That’s something I’ve learnt and I love about blogging. Is there anything you wanna share about being either a blogger or a blog reader?

Entry filed under: Blogging. Tags: .

11 Things. Things I’m Grateful for #1

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sammi  |  November 4, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    Never stop looking for other blogs that might be interesting.
    You thought of a lot of good things πŸ™‚ Especially just doing it anyway when it comes to running! lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


