Toi’s Challenge recap.

November 15, 2009 at 10:22 pm 2 comments

Well, as the readers know, yesterday I took part in the Toi’s Challenge, 18.5 Kilometer bush walk as a walker.

That was the first time I’ve ever done it in my life and I set a new PDR (personal distance record) when I completed it. I was really proud of myself for having completed it with minimal training 🙂

It took me and Mum 4 hours to do it. I decided to stick with her for the whole time and I was SO proud of her because she’s done NO training at all and still managed to kick butt and came in a mere 5 minutes after myself. She would’ve kept up with me but she got stuck behind this big group who were walking a step a MINUTE and looked like they were about to keel over :/

It was, without a doubt, the most painful four hours of my life, but the most beautiful. I saw some beautiful scenery that I didn’t even know existed in our small little town, and I also worked those Glut muscles!  Which is what my trainer Gaz said is something I need to strengthen.

Here are some photos I got yesterday and a couple of videos.

CIMG2168

That’s Mum getting us registered as walkers about half an hour before the race began.

CIMG2169

My lucky number– 13. Won me a cute little spot prize which consisted of a small punnet of strawberries (which I devoured within 5 minutes of finishing the race), a box of lollies (which I tried to offload to Dallas coz they were yuck lol) and a walkers magazine.

CIMG2170

The start and finish line. Looking very legit. I liked the big clock.

That’s a video of the race beginning as you can see. There were loads of people.

Throughout the walk, I stopped to take a photo of every single breathtaking view. Here’s pretty view number 1:

CIMG2177

The entry to the beginning of the Toi’s track. We’d already been walking for half an hour just to get there:

CIMG2178

Pretty View #2:

CIMG2179

CIMG2180

Pretty view #3:

CIMG2182

 

Pretty view #4:

CIMG2183

Here’s a video of a small part of the walk.

More scenery:

CIMG2186

CIMG2187

There’s loads more, but I won’t post them all, there’s too many! It was a truly beautiful walk though, and I’d recommend it to anybody. However, you do require a certain level of fitness for it to be enjoyable.

I’m really sore today, in my hips, butt and lower back. I don’t know why but I had killer back and hip pain yesterday.. made me a little worried :S

Anyway, I have a study group to go to in 40 minutes and I’m walking there, so I’ll take some photos and post them later 🙂

Bye!

Entry filed under: Challenge, Fitness, personal record, race, Whakatane. Tags: .

Things I’m Grateful For #6 Let the exams begin…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Learning to run all over again… « Scar Tissue  |  November 18, 2009 at 3:16 am

    […] be either from walking Toi’s Challenge (18.5K trail race, took me 4 hours. Read the recap here) or from changing my running style since I’m not use to it. I’m sure the pain […]

    Reply
  • […] the beach to search for Moko the dolphin, and instead ended up walking half of the Toi’s track. (I completed the Toi’s Challenge last year, an 18.5 Kilometre trail run/walk. I walked it with Mum) In our travels I expressed my issue to Mum […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


