32 Degrees? uggghhhhh

November 25, 2009 at 12:43 am 1 comment

Yesterday I made a really, REALLY stupid mistake. I chose to go for my 5k run at 11.20am when it was roughly 23 degrees outside.

SICK SICK SICK SICK!

Words cannot express just how completely dreadful this run was. I thought I was going to either faint, puke or DIE before I finished. During the last kilometer, I was almost about to cry.

IT. WAS. AGONY!

It sucked so badly because #1. It was 32 degrees outside, the hottest I can ever remember, #2. I hadn’t eaten a pre-run snack and #3. I was badly dehydrated. I had been dehydrated before I left, so running + the heat only made it a million times WORSE.

I was really kind of angry, because we’ve had cold, rainy weather for months and then all of a sudden the temperatures climbs 12 degrees higher than it’s ever been! So suddenly, I had a bad headache all afternoon because my body wasn’t use to it.

I had planned to gradually ease my body into the warmer climate as I expected spring to warm up gradually so I’d become adjusted to the warmth, but no, it’s been freezing and now It’s stinking hot. No chance to become accustomed to it at ALL.

It was so hard to push myself to finish. From the 3rd Kilometer I had wanted to start walking, but I forced myself to go on because I hate quitting. I knew I’d be so mad with myself if I walked, so I kept my legs moving and proceeded to shout at myself (very verbally) for about 20 minutes.

I can’t imagine was I must have looked and sounded like to passers by hahaha.

At first I used positive mantras, but that just wasn’t mean enough for me, so I started hurling abuse at myself, with reminders of what I’d feel like if I quit. Then I started to imagine what Jillian Michaels might have said to me…

Turns out I respond far better to violence lol.

I came home and collapsed on the couch. I was shaking and I just felt like crying. It was the longest 34 minutes of my life and I still can’t believe I finished in THAT time, it should’ve taken me around 50 given how awful I felt.

I managed to pulled myself together and enjoy a powerade popsicle and a huge glass of water. I showered and felt a lot better.

But still, I was shaky for a good two hours after finishing. I’d just pummeled my body and I have never, ever in my life felt physically worse than I did yesterday. NEVER!

I almost didn’t run today because I was so scared I’d have another bad day like yesterday. I felt sick with nerves, but the temperature wasn’t too high and there was a cool breeze in the air so I went anyway. I had a 7K run scheduled today, and as I am determined to stick to my training plan as closely and accurately as possible, I did it.

And much to my relief, it wasn’t bad! 🙂 I actually enjoyed this run. I took it at a very easy, consistent pace so I wouldn’t burn out and since it was heating up and I had no water, I didn’t want a repeat of yesterday.

The pace worked for me today and I finished in 46 minutes which I’m really happy about because my goal was 45. Eventually I want to whittle it down to 38 minutes, but for now, I just need to get use to running longer distances than 5k.

I’ve decided that from now on, I’ll run in the mornings before it gets too hot. It’ll be a challenge because I’ve never ever been a morning runner, but now that summer is fast approaching, I believe it is MORE than necessary.

Tell you what, after running yesterday and today in the hot sun, after just those two runs, I HAVE SOME CRAZY ASS TAN-LINES GOIN’ ON!

It’s intense lol. I’ve never had tan-lines this defined before. I might post some pictures tomorrow or something.

Tomorrow morning I’ll be up and 6 and out the door at 7 for speed training at the running track just up the road.

After my terrible run yesterday, I enjoyed some kitten love and the beautiful sunset.

Anyway, I’ll be back later with SG of the day 🙂

xoxo

Entry filed under: Fitness, Health, running, Uncategorized.

So. Much. RELIEF! Attempting a Green Monster…

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


