I have officially been converted to a morning runner.

November 25, 2009 at 9:21 pm 2 comments

This morning I did something I have only ever done once before in my life… I GOT UP AT 6AM TO GO EXERCISE!!!! :O

This is big news! haha, I’ve always been an afternoon runner, but now that summer is fast approaching, it’s just TOO DAMN HOT to run in the afternoons. So what do I do? Get up early and get it out of the way then. Seems logical enough to me.

Unfortunately, even though I was doing 800m sprints at 7am, Β it was still stinking hot, and it would appear that if Β I want to avoid the heat I shall have to get up even earlier so I’m DOING IT at 6.. I’m thinking 5am?

Sounds scary, but desperate times call for desperate measures.

It was surprisingly easy to get up at 6 this morning. I haven’t since I went up to Auckland to meet Gaz, but I practically bounded out of bed. I was excited for the change in habit.

The workout itself however, was NOT easy. I did 4 sets of 800 meter sprints, and since I very very rarely do speed work, I found it extremely difficult. Even though I had 2 minute intervals between each, I was stuffed. I guess that it will get easier with time as my speed increases. I’ll be doing it every week for the next 3 weeks, so it’ll be cool to see what changes I’ll start to see there.

I’ve turned my training schedule into a star chart πŸ™‚ I’ve always liked star charts but I always thought they were too childish. This time, I decided SCREW IT, I want a star chart. It’s so so satisfying to be able to put a gold star in the “training completed” box πŸ™‚ I feel like I’ve really accomplished something. It’s also cool to look at it and see the little ROW of Gold Stars, and I feel really proud for sticking to my training plan 100%.

When I did that awful 5k two days ago, I have never ever felt more proud to say I accomplished something. It was so physically challenging, and when I filled the box with a gold star, I felt like I’d won the battle. I’d beat the heat and I was strong and capable.

I guess to most that sounds really childish, but it works for me.

I’m having some technical difficulties regarding the camera. The batteries have died and this one is non-rechargeable. It requires “special” batteries that I’m yet to go out and buy. It’s a real shame because it was beautiful this morning, and I’m going to the beach later, AND, making waffles for the first time!!! :O

So I may or may not have photos of that. Most likely not..

Anyway, that’s all for now πŸ™‚

xoxo

Entry filed under: Fitness, Health, Nutrition, running, Whakatane.

Attempting a Green Monster… What I’ve been listening to

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. girltweetseats  |  November 25, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    I learnt to love getting up early to exercise! The great thing is you feel like you have done heaps when it’s only 7am!
    Keep it up πŸ™‚ And yum re the waffles!

    Reply
    • 2. jennylikestorun  |  November 26, 2009 at 5:02 am

      Yeah exactly πŸ˜€ And you’ve got the rest of the day to kick back and relax.
      Waffles were great, my boyfriend (“the experienced waffle maker”), failed sooo bad at showing me how to make them hahaha
      They were awesome once I took over and figured it out for myself πŸ˜€

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


