10k’s, not so much fun…

November 28, 2009 at 9:50 pm 1 comment

I had a 10k run today, I felt like I’d lost my mojo and I was severely lacking enthusiasm. I did it anyway, obviously, because I’m not one to back out of a planned run.

I was trying different ways to get me excited about the distance, biggest one being to read 10k Race Recaps of Caitlin, Danica and Meghann’s blogs, but I still wasn’t feelin’ it.

I got up later than usual at 7am as opposed to 6 like I have been, only because the weather isn’t good so it wasn’t so hot that the morning was my only option. I was glad I did. I felt better for it.

I decided to take inspiration from Caitlin with her positive mantras, and so I wrote “Pain is temporary, Quitting is forever” on my left forearm so every time I felt like giving up and walking home, I could look at it and feel motivated to keep going.

However, it was looking a little worse for wear by the end…

Once I got out there and got started, even though physically, it was incredibly challenging, I was grateful to have something so exhausting to take my mind off a few things that I was feeling upset about.

I just put my head down and RAN! I pounded out those 10k’s/6 Miles, staring at the pavement for the whole time. I was completely zoned out, I just wanted it to be over. And thankfully, time seemed to go by really fast.

I love that with running, you’re able to give everything you have, so that if you’re feeling upset or hurt, you have nothing left to give, so you can’t be bothered feeling down in the dumps and it kinda just goes away..

Regarding Xmas In The Park last night, for the most part, I had a fantastic time. There were a few things which upset me, and was the cause of my massive downer this morning, but in general I had heaps of fun. It was good to hang out with Joy and Leonie. I’ll post a full recap once Joy uploads all her photos. She has the best ones 🙂

Anyway, all for now champs.

Have a good one.

xoxo

Entry filed under: Blogging, Family and Friends, Fitness, running, Whakatane.

I have all I need :) Christmas In The Park!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. caitlin  |  November 29, 2009 at 10:00 am

    its all mental, isnt it? good job!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


