12k run preparation.

December 5, 2009 at 4:04 am Leave a comment

Tomorrow I’m running 12 Kilometers. That will be a new Personal Distance Record, aka, The furtherest I have ever run in my ENTIRE LIFE.

I won’t lie, I’m absolutely terrified and doing all I can to avoid thoughts of: “I’m going to die, I’m going to die, I’m going to DIE”. But, it’s proving to be really hard. It’s funny because it’s only 2 k’s longer than my current PDR, but it still seems so incredibly daunting…

I’ve started preparing my gear:

I find that it helps me feel good about my run when I’m prepared for it. It’s almost comforting in a way.

Tomorrow I’ll also be taking my Hydration Pack with me. For runs 10k or longer I like to have water with me. Also I like to have some lollies or fruit for fuel if I get hungry, tissues for if my nose starts to run- which more often than not it does, my cellphone in case I need to contact someone for an emergency and my ID, just in case I need to be identified. It sounds like a lot to take for 12 kilometers, but I like to have it all.

Here’s two photos from AAAGGGEESSS ago when I first got my Hydration Pack, just so you can see what it looks like:

I don’t care if I don’t end up needing anything, I feel far more secure knowing that I’ll have everything I need.

Anyway, I’m keen for an early night tonight so I have enough energy. I actually feel like I’ll sleep pretty well tonight (touch wood). I have done for the last two nights. It makes such a huge difference!

Tomorrow morning, I’ll get up at 7 am and straight away I’ll make a Green Monster. I think they are FANTASTIC!! I’ve had one everyday for the last 3 days and I’ve PR’d TWICE! I’ve never had more energy šŸ˜€

I’ll put together my Hydration Pack + Contents whilst I drink it and then 20 minutes before I leave I’ll have some toast with peanut butter. Perrrfect pre-run fuel for me.

I should be carb-loading today, but I have a really small appetite today for some reason… I forced myself to eat a huge sandwich this afternoon with avocado, tomato, gherkin, cheese and moroccan seasoning for taste.

If it rains tomorrow I’ll take a ziploc bag for my ipod and I’ll wrap glad-wrap around my watch to keep it dry. I do not want any of my electronics drowning on this run.

I’m actually way more excited for this run than I was about last week’s 10k. I know I’ll feel so good afterwards, and once I get it out of the way in the morning, I can chillax for the rest of the day and then have a nap before Mum and Mark get home. They come back from their holiday tomorrow and we’re having a nice big family BBQ to welcome them. Dallas is coming over too šŸ˜€

I’m actually really really relieved to have the olds’ returning. It’s been pretty shite without them…

Absence really does make the heart grow fonder.

I haven’t yet decided what music I’ll listen to tomorrow. I might just chuck on Guns N’ Roses and let a couple of their albums play. I did that the other day and it was a great idea. GNR make me so nostalgic and really take me back… Good memories of last summer and amazing times. Listening to them really help me zone out from the running and make time go so much faster.

Guns N’ Roses are my all time FAVOURITE band šŸ™‚ Here’s my favourite song:

Anyway, I’ll be back tomorrow with a recap on how my run went. No doubt I’ll be full of the joys about it (assuming all goes well) and super proud of myself… aswell as completely stuffed.

Have a great evening!

xoxo

Entry filed under: Fitness, goals, Health, Music, Nutrition, personal record, running, Uncategorized, Whakatane. Tags: , , , , , , .

TOO. MUCH. RAIN!!!!!!! I did it!!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


