Staying on track throughout the holidays

December 9, 2009 at 10:05 pm 1 comment

Ok, so I’m going away for christmas to spend time with some family that I don’t often get to see. Some of which I haven’t seen since christmas in 2007!

And let me tell you, I am VERY excited šŸ˜€ I can’t wait! Although, part of me is a little nervous about how I’m going to go with exercising away from home. I’ve decided to take this on board as a challenge and think of it positively and learn from this, rather than freaking out about falling off the exercise bandwagon.

I read a really really useful post yesterday on Oh She Glows about staying on track during the holidays, and I’m so glad I did because there were some really helpful tips that I will be using.

Firstly, I’ve written out a gear list specifically for exercise, so that I’ll have everything I need to go out for a run or a swim or anything else. So far I have this:

  • Running gear, e.g: shoes, socks, shorts (multiple pairs), sports bra, multiple pairs of sports tops, knee sleeve.
  • Ipod + Ipod case
  • Skipping rope
  • Togs
  • Weights
  • Hydration Pack
  • Mesh Hat
  • Goggles
  • Sports Watch

I know that seems like a lot, and it IS! But it’s all really important to making sure I stay successful and consistant with my exercise during the holiday season. I may shorten the list, or I may not. I know that two areas will definitely be staying and that is gear required for running and swimming.

My cousins house has a swimming pool, so if ever I’m unable to head out for a run during the three days I’ll be at their place, I can just swim laps in their pool for a while.

I’m really excited about this and can’t wait! I’ll be tackling Hamiltons hills when I’m there, my running schedule I hope will stay as consistant as possible. I’ll use MapMyRun to work out routes and speed won’t be an issue as there is a huge park right behind Dad’s house.

I’ll keep you posted!

Anyway, this morning I got up at 20 past 6 and did some speedwork.

it was a truly beautiful morning and the perfect temperature.

I was very tired and it was a little bit chilly at first. I did a warm up by jogging around the track then stretching. After that, it was time to haul ass around that track 8 times as fast as I could go.

IT. HURT.

My hip now hurts so badly I can’t walk. This is BAD. I won’t be doing this kind of speed work again until I speak to Gaz, my trainer. I think it’s because of my running style. Obviously, if you read this post, you know that I visited Gaz and we discovered that there’s a lot I need to improve on in my running technique and that’s why I’ve been getting hip pain.

With speed work, for me, I find it extremely difficult to maintain proper running form. Firstly, you’re sprinting, so it just throws everything out of whack anyway when you’re used to endurance and secondly, you get tired much, much faster, and when I’m tired, whether it be on a long run or in sprints, it’s really difficult to keep my technique together instead of just letting go and slipping back into old habits.

So today I struggled with proper form, and so as a result, badly hurt my hip šŸ˜¦

I iced it for a solid hour and I think it helped, but I still can’t walk.

FML.

Anyway, that’s all for now. I’m going to go email Gaz now and see what he has to say.

Ciao!

Do you have any suggestions on how to stay on track during the holidays?

Entry filed under: Challenge, christmas, Fitness, Injury, running, Whakatane. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Never been happier! Glee

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


