I don’t know what I should do.. :/

December 12, 2009 at 2:54 am 1 comment

I have 10k’s marked on my training schedule for me to run tomorrow… But I don’t know if that’s a very good idea?

My hip is still really sore from Thursday’s speed training and my trainer hasn’t emailed me back about it. Also, I went for a 6k run yesterday and along with my hip hurting and my quads cramping up like crazy, my left knee started giving me gip. It hurt so badly that at about 5k’s I had to stop for a few seconds to see if there was any way I could ease the pain and discomfort.

No hope.

I came home and hurt REALLY BADLY. I iced my knee for about 20 minutes and for the rest of the day it was incredibly painful.

Thankfully, today was a rest day so I’m able to let my body heal a bit more, in retrospect, I should’ve taken a rest day yesterday, but I hate skipping runs, so I wasn’t going to let a little PAIN stop me (stupid ego).

Therefore, this leaves me with uncertainty as to what the best decision would be for me. My hip is a little bit better today and my knee is ok, but should I take the plunge and run 6 miles/10k’s tomorrow?

If I wear my knee sleeve, pop ibuprofen before I go and ice my knee when I get back I should be ok… but what about my hip? :/ It’s times like these that I need to speak to my trainer.

So you see my dilemma?

It would be awesome if anybody could offer some informed advice on this. I don’t wanna injure myself any futher.

xoxo

Entry filed under: Injury, running. Tags: , , , , , .

Glee Tis the season!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. fiora  |  December 13, 2009 at 4:21 am

    I don’t quite know what type of pain you are getting in your hip, if its at the joint or if it is more just on the inside of the bone. Often after strenuous exercise I have a mean pain on the inside of my hip, and I wasn’t sure what it was until quite recently. It’s been so bad that I have had trouble walking on a couple of occasions. I think I know what it is, and I think that it is the groin muscle but I’m not sure. I found that stretching it out hurt quite a bit but was really good. It’s a hard muscle to stretch, but if you stand with you legs shoulder width apart and lift the opposite arm to the way you are bending, and bend as far as you can sideways without rotating your body at all. Make sure your body stays facing fowards and your side doesn’t rotate inwards. Use your arm to help balance and bend more. Hopefully that will help 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


