Don’t crash Dad’s scooter

December 22, 2009 at 6:05 am 2 comments

Coz this is what happens:

Owwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

So yeah, I’ve been learning how to ride a scooter. It’s quite fun actually 🙂 And a lot easier than I expected (apart from my unfortunate loss of control with the throttle… lol). It’s going to be my main source of transport I think from now on, although I’m weary about riding in the city…

I went to a physio therapist and a Sports Med GP yesterday, the physiotherapist was Mike Lovell and he reeally knows his stuff. He’s worked with olympians, Sarah Ulma, Rugby players, NZ triathletes. I’m very excited to have his help with my knee and hip pain.

The doctor thought I have “Patellafemoral Syndrome”, click on the link to read more about it. I was ok with that because Caitlin from Healthy Tipping Point has the same thing and she says it’s very easy to manage. Check out her blog post about it here.

The doctor thought my hip pain was actually a lower back problem as opposed to being in the hip itself, however the physiotherapist thought differently. He said it was because I have weak muscles in the lower back/Glutes which is causing my hip to have to compensate for lack of work.

I’m also very weak in my core and need to be doing some sit ups to help build strength.

I went to the physiotherapist, and after much discussion he taped my knees to release the pressure off my inner quads and to get some different muscles to work.

He also gave me some glute strengthening moves to do at home.

So the million dollar question is, will I have to quit running?

NO! 🙂 I have a lot to work on with strength training, but I don’t need to give up running- thank GOD. I won’t get back into it until my awesome new shoes arrive, just to be safe. I’ll swim until then, I went swimming today which was a good start.

I also tried aqua jogging hahahahaha- GEEEEEEEEEEEK.

Anyway, hope you’re sufficiently updated now 🙂

Have a great night!
xoxo

Entry filed under: Health, Injury, running. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

I am terrified I could be a food photographer!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. King Samuel IIIV  |  December 28, 2009 at 8:36 am

    Oh shit, scooter war wounds. been there.

    Tu meke kapai

    Reply
  • […] been through much physiotherapy, starting the journey to recovery back in Hamilton. Then returned to Whakatane and began treatment with a new physiotherapist, and […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


