I hate diets. Diets suck.

January 4, 2010 at 2:31 am 1 comment

I’m sure 98% of you will know who Holly Madison is. She’s beautiful, she’s smart, famous and lives a luxury celebrity lifestyle. She’s famous for her role in the show Girls Of The Playboy Mansion.

Perhaps this will refresh your memory?

Yup, that outta do it.

Well anyway, as you can very clearly see from these two pictures, she’s a beautiful woman and I actually looked up to her quite a lot for managing to be a girl next door, have attended university, finished high school and become very successful without having gone off the rails. Also I liked how she handled the publicity of her split with Hugh Hefner (puke), she kept her cool and never lost her temper with the paparazzi.

HOWEVER, I guess, as the saying goes, all good things must come to an end… and my admiration for her DID after reading one of her tweets (http://twitter.com/hollymadison123) the other day:

http://twitpic.com/vzy04 – My “last supper” b4 massive diet starting 2morrow! I want my dancing w/the stars body back!”
8:27 PM Dec 31st, 2009 from TwitPic

I was really shocked and disappointed after reading this. But my disappointment continued to grow after reading following tweets:

“entering day 2 of my fruit diet . . . yesterday was successful . . one day down, two to go!”
9:48 AM Jan 2nd from web

“help me with my diet: who makes the best salad in Vegas?”
about 21 hours ago from mobile web

I know most of you probably don’t understand why this bothers me, but it bothers me particularly for three reasons.

Firstly: Holly Madison does most definitely NOT need to be dieting so drastically. She doesn’t need to be dieting at ALL! Especially not on an all-fruit diet, that is unhealthy and she will not be receiving all the nutrients and minerals she needs.

Secondly: If she wants her “dancing with the stars body” back, then maybe instead of fasting/dieting, she should… oh, i dunno…. DANCE?!?!

and Thirdly: There are so many girls and teenagers who admire and look up to her. She is a beautiful woman and by saying that she needs to diet so drastically when really the public can see no problem with her, she’s putting pressure on her fans. Some girls may look at themselves in the mirror and compare themselves to her, and by her saying that she has weight to lose when she is TINY, her fans may follow her example and start fad dieting as well.

As the title clearly states, I am not a fan of dieting. This is because I’ve tried out a billion and one diets myself (stupidly, before I took up running and learnt how to eat properly), including fasting and it never worked long term or made me happy. I ended up hungry, miserable and feeling no better about myself than I was 3 kg’s heavier.

Dieting is not rewarding in the long run, and the thing that people seem to disregard, is the fact that with diets, you’re eating differently to normal, so once you go off the diet and resume regular day to day eating habits, YOU WILL PUT THE WEIGHT BACK ON!

I know you’ve probably all heard this a million and one times, but truly the best way to ensure a healthy body with a healthy weight is to eat healthy food with a balanced diet and regular exercise.

It sounds like a cliche, but that’s because it’s true!

Maintaining a healthy lifestyle is so much easier than dieting aswell, and you feel so happy and satisfied from it.

It’s not a quick fix, it’s a long-term life decision.

I’m sorry Holly, but you’ve let me down here. I thought you were smarter than that.

I hope this gives all you readers something to think about. Have an excellent day!

xoxo

Entry filed under: Body Confidence, Health, Nutrition. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Questionnaire White Island Tour

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mauricio  |  January 4, 2010 at 7:42 am

    Raw Food Movement

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


