Yay for successful cooking!

January 24, 2010 at 11:39 pm Leave a comment

The other day, I attempted the impossible… I tried to cook myself dinner. Bet most of you don’t know that I can’t cook, huh? Kind of ironic, given my lifestyle, career choice and blog niche lol.

However, I added on an extra New Years Resolution, which is to learn to cook! Starting the other day. Now it was a risk because I was “freestyle” cooking, meaning I was throwing something together without a recipe, but I find dinner recipes really complicated and we didn’t have a lot of ingredients anyway so I had to make do.

I chose to create my own Vegetable and Noodle Soup. I dragged out whatever veges I could find, which ended up being Onions, Carrots, Courgettes, canned Chickpeas and Red cabbage. I also found a can of Watties Indian Tomatoes with seasoning, I used that as the base for the soup.

I chopped the onions and added them into the pot with the already added can of tomatoes, I let the onions soften. Then I added 1 cup of water.

Then I chopped up all the other veges and threw them in the pot, then I drained the chickpeas and added half the amount of chickpeas to the soup. I left the pot to simmer on a low heat for 20 minutes. After about 17 minutes I added some noodles (which were already softened so they didn’t take long) and left it for the remaining three minutes.

Once that time was up I switched off the element and made a side of toast 😀

The outcome was actually really great!

The result had me very satisfied. It was tasty (I also added Moroccan Seasoning and a pinch of Salt for flavour), filling and kept me full for a very long time. For a vegetarian meal I was very happy with my efforts 🙂

Anyway, stay tuned for some more cooking attempts!

Have a great day 🙂

xoxo

Entry filed under: Cooking. Tags: , , , , .

Happy Anniversary to us :) High School Horrors + First day on the job!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


