Upcoming Challenges.

February 5, 2010 at 8:23 am 1 comment

Hey guys!

School was great today πŸ™‚ Just so you know. I’m starting to feel even more positive about it, and the fact that the production auditions start on Monday makes things even more exciting πŸ˜€

My audition is on Monday and I can’t wait!!!! I’ve prepared my song, but I won’t tell you what it is until after I’ve sung it πŸ˜‰ For those of you who don’t know, I think you’ll get a bit of a shock haha.

Now, the purpose of this blog post is so I can fill you guys in on the upcoming sporting challenges that lie ahead for little old me.

Upcoming Challenges for 2010.

I’m sooo excited!! One of my New Years Resolutions and Bucket List choices were to complete a triathlon, and even though this one is tiny, it sounds perfect for me for where I am in my exercise right now.

The race consists of a 300 meter swim, 10k bike ride and 2.5k run or walk. I know, it’s tiny! But that’s why I’m attracted to it. As my readers know, I’m recovering from a serious knee/hip injury which has caused me to take a two month running Hiatus and do nothing but swim or use the Elliptical.

I’ve been seeing regular physio therapy to help recover and my rehabilitation is coming along nicely πŸ™‚ My knees are very slowly beginning to ease up and my hip is perfect.

I’m still not back into running, but I’m starting to test the grounds a little bit by running here and there. Initially when I got my injury, I couldn’t cycle either because that aggravated my knees.

After a decent rest, I’m able to cycle a lot further and of a higher intensity. I’ve become quite a confident swimmer also, so to me, this triathlon sounds perfect for me. If the run is too hard on me, I’ll simply slow to a walk or a jog which will be fine because the race isn’t about winning.

I’ve got a decent bike.

And my running shoes πŸ˜€

So I think I’m pretty much prepared in terms of gear. I’m a little nervous to start running again, I don’t want to aggravate my knees and worsen the injury.

I’m being very cautious about running, I’ve tested it a little bit and I find that I can go for 5-10 minutes with minimal pain, but after that it gets more challenging. I’m determined to complete that triathlon though, and I shall do it even if I have to walk the final stretch.

  • Secondly, I’m going to participate in school Swimming Sports for the firstΒ time since year nine πŸ˜›

I think I’ll enter as many Breaststroke events as I can and maybe a couple of lengths of freestyle. I’m still not very good at freestyle and I get tired quickly, so I usually can’t go for any longer than 3-4 lengths without stopping for a break.

  • Thirdly, Athletics Day at school.

I should point out that since I’m in P.E Elite, these school events are compulsory anyway, but I’m listing them here because for the first time, I’ll be willingly entering them with enthusiasm.

I want to enter as many events as possible on Athletics day, apart from sprints, for obvious reasons…

It sounds like a ton of fun with some great prizes, and I’m always keen to get a new accomplishment under my belt πŸ™‚

  • School X-Country.

This is still kinda up in the air atm. I’m not 100% sure if I’ll be ready to run by then, I’m just gonna take it slow and play it by ear.

That’s all I know of for this year in terms of fitness events. I’m sure there will be more coming! And I can’t wait to let you know about them πŸ˜€

I’m so excited for this year and can’t wait to see how things pan out.

Have a great night and enjoy your weekend!

xoxo

That’s all I know of so far for this year.

Entry filed under: Fitness, Injury, race, running. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Back to school! Motivation

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


