Food for thought.

February 19, 2010 at 7:35 pm Leave a comment

Morning all! Hope you’re all excited and have some amazing plans for this beautiful Saturday morning 🙂

I love Saturdays. They’re by far my favourite day of the week, and as of this year the only day I have completely off! :O That’s because of school and that I work on Sunday’s now.

Anyway, last night I had an excellent gym session.

I was very excited to go! 🙂 (btw, do you like the new hairdo? dyed it black and got it cut)

I hadn’t been in THREE DAYS and so it had to be good. I had a fabulous cross-training workout which consisted of:

  • 2 minute walk warmup on the treadmill
  • 10 minute run on the treadmill
  • 5 minutes interval training on the spin bike (10 seconds of high resistance followed by 20 seconds recovery with low resistance)
  • 10 minutes on the stationary bike
  • 10 minutes on the rowing machine
  • 10 minutes on the Elliptical
  • 5 minutes spin bike interval training

I then did about a minute of skipping, a few press-ups and some hip strengthening exercises before coming home. The whole thing took about an hour and 20 minutes or so.

Today I reeeeaaallly need to go for a swim :/ Swimming sports is on Thursday and I’m no where near prepared for it. I’ll either try to fit one in before 10am (because we’re hosting a Japanese exchange student for 12 days and they have some activities planned at the beach at this time) or this afternoon.

I didn’t do the triathlon that I had planned for the 12th if anybody noticed. I came to the conclusion that I was simply ill-prepared.

ANYWAY! Moving on, as the subject line reads, here’s some food for thought..

I’ve discovered that with my body, when I have a more stabilizing, solid breakfast that somehow incorporates 2 eggs and 2 pieces of bread or toast, it sets me up for the whole day and I snack less on sugary foods and junk.

My usual morning breakfast is either French Toast with a dribble of maple syrup and a handful of frozen blueberries on each slice, or scrambled eggs on toast with the same toppings. I also try to fit in a piece of fruit somewhere along the line.

I have found that this breakfast is the only thing that keeps me full. Come interval and I’m still not hungry! it’s fantastic because then my interval snacks are enough to carry me happily over to lunch time.

Here’s the breakfast I had this morning:

As usual, eggs and carbs 🙂 I hate people who claim that carbohydrates are bad.. That’s such crap in my opinion. I eat a ton of carbs because that’s what my body craves and I’ve LOST weight! You need carbohydrates to help keep you full and give you more energy, if you’re eating the right sort of carbs (wholegrains etc) then it’s not a problem!

Another thing is that I’ve decided to switch to a different Physiotherapist. And not just within the business, I mean an entirely different clinic. I have some serious issues with the very rude and unintelligent receptionist who has caused me more problems than I care to deal with, and I just can’t stand that revolting tongue bar she flashes around when she grins when she realized she completely screwed something up.

I have my first physio appointment with my new physio on Monday afternoon. Here’s hoping it works out!

I’m reading “Scar Tissue” by Anthony Kiedis again. It’s an incredible and inspiring autobiography, I think I’m more in love with it this time round than I was the first.

the Red Hot Chili Peppers are just so darn talented. They keep producing incredible music, over and over again. I heard rumours that there’s a new album on it’s way out this year, and I reeaallly hope that’s true! They’re my favourite band and I would die to see them live.

They’re also really really funny 🙂 That’s something you’ll notice if you read AK’s book.

Check out this video clip for “Hump De Bump”, I love it! It cracks me up 😀 and seeing AK with grills… lol, no words….

What sort of foods do you eat to keep to full and sustained longer?

xoxo

Entry filed under: Music, Nutrition. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Exciting new hair :D Grandma Penny’s Surprise birthday part recap… FINALLY!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


