Grandma Penny’s Surprise birthday part recap… FINALLY!

February 22, 2010 at 6:07 am Leave a comment

Hey everyone! I’ve finally gotten around to being able to post this blog post haha.

Firstly, I have some good news! Today I participated in P.E 100% and it was INTERVAL TRAINING! Sprints! I was nervous and made a bad mistake of choosing to run without shoes, but I managed to complete the whole session.

The session included:

  • Thirteen 50 meter sprints with 1 minute intervals
  • Seventeen 10 meter sprints, starting with 1 minute intervals but ending in 30 second intervals due to time constraints.

As you can imagine, I was overly fast since I haven’t trained for speed in MANY months, but it felt amazing to just be doing it.

Anyway- As you guys know, on the 13th of February, my family and I threw my Grandma a surprise party at her house to celebrate her 70th birthday.

It was a huge success and everybody had an excellent time πŸ˜€ I couldn’t believe that the surprise actually worked because never in my life can I recall a surprise party actually going according to plan.

Anyway, my family had arranged for my uncle to take Grandma Penny out for a few hours at 2pm, giving us time to make the 1 hour trip and get the house sorted before the guests arrived at 4.30-5pm.

That went according to plan and Grant so skillfully took her to see “Avatar”, which was an excellent choice because it’s like 3 hours long lol.

We arrived on time and started setting up. I bought a packed lunch with me because I’d hit the gym hard that morning:

  • 20 minute run on the treadmill
  • 5 minute interval training on spin bike
  • 20 minute stationary bike ride
  • 5 minutes rowing
  • 20 minutes on the cross trainer
  • 5 minutes on the spin bike again
  • 10 minutes strength
  • 15 minute stretch

So you see, I knew I was bound to get hungry.

We set up the birthday banners, the food (what we’d bought. It was a pot-luck dinner), the wine, the glasses etc.

Eventually guests started arriving and it was drawing nearer and nearer to the time of Grandma Penny’s arrival.Β Everyone was super excited when we received the phone call from Grant to say they were almost home.

Then she arrived home…

πŸ™‚ It was PRICELESS!!! She couldn’t believe it, she was so shocked she started shaking.

I caught this legendary facial shot after she’d gone around and greeted all the guests.

This photo basically captures the essence of her that night.

The guests began to mingle, I had some wonderful chats with the guests and I was assigned as “official party photographer” and was instructed to go around taking photos of everyone and everything. Here we go:

Mum and Colleen,

Mum and Lynn,

My sister, Penny,

Te Mania, my Nephew πŸ™‚

The view from Grandma Penny’s house.

Grandma Penny and her friend.

A wine glass.

Then I asked to have a few family photos.

Mum, Sam and I.

Mum and I

Me and Penny.

After some photos, it was dinner time!!!
There was an impressive amount and variety of food.

I chose to have some rice with thai chicken, some of my sisters Lasagna, a slice of pizza, a piece of bacon and egg pie and some Salad.

I did end up going back for seconds of things. Specifically the bacon and egg pie and salad πŸ™‚

Soon after it was time for my favourite…. PUDDING!!! πŸ˜€ The selection was AMAZING.

I chose to have two different kinds of cheesecake and a scoop of Ambrosia. The yellow cheesecake was INCREDIBLE! It was so so so good, I want the recipe!

Shortly after that the clouds started rolling in…

Made for a good photo though:

Eventually people started winding down and leaving.

The night ended with a very happy (and drunk) Grandma Penny πŸ™‚

I caught this amazing photo of the Tauranga city lights…

The next day we had a great time. Our big family group went to the Mount and went out for lunch. (We originally had plans for the beach but in the morning the weather did not permit…)

We passed this GORGEOUS puppy, it was a cross between a Chihuahua and a Poodle πŸ™‚ adorable. We stopped to pat it for ages.

We agreed on a Turkish restaurant for lunch. I didn’t like it very much because the waiter was extremely rude and used nasty language. I ordered a chai latte (as usual) and Grandma Penny ordered a huge platter for us all to share.

My chai latte was a huge let down. It came with some weird, lumpy foam stuff on top…. didn’t know what was up with that and it tasted absolutely revolting. I scooped it all off and put it on my side dish. It looked like dog vomit.

I had a bite of my sisters Lamb kebab, THAT tasted good. I must admit, the food was divine because the platter tasted incredible too.

We couldn’t stay long, our family had to go our separate ways as we were all on tight schedules. Penny, Temania, Colleen and Jade all went back to Hamilton, Grant went back to Grandma Penny’s house and Mum, Mark, Sam, Grandma Penny and I all went to Otumoetai to go visit our old dog Tai πŸ™‚

It was so great to see him!!! He recognized us and was so excited he was jumping up to us and running around like a mad thing. It totally made my day. It also made me miss him HEAPS!!!

We couldn’t stay long, we had to get back to Whakatane. I was an excellent trip and I got to come home and spend the rest of Valentine’s Day with Dallas πŸ™‚

There you have it! Finally finished this recap haha. Been a long time coming. Hope you guys like it! I’ll have some SG’s up in the morning.

Goodnight!

xoxo

Entry filed under: Family and Friends, life. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Food for thought. This is why I want a Welsh Corgi

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


