Review of Tim Burton’s “Alice In Wonderland”

March 7, 2010 at 5:26 am Leave a comment

Okay, well yesterday I ventured into town with Emma and on impulse, we decided to go see “Alice In Wonderland”. We’re both huge Tim Burton fans and as a result were highly curious to see his latest film.

Also, I know this movie has received a lot of bad critique and I wanted to make a decision myself.

Personally, I thought this film was INCREDIBLE!!! I truly think Tim Burton has outdone himself this time.

I love the costumes, the colours, the special effects, the story line… Wow, I just cannot comprehend how it has so far received such bad reviews! I think what it might be is the fact that, the people who wrote those bad reviews do not share the “Tim Burton Mindset”. Me and Emma love that dark, intense, weird sort of a film and so naturally, we enjoyed it more than people who don’t.

Also, viewers may have a hard time adjusting to the story line. For those who are very very familiar with the classic Alice In Wonderland tale, they might resent the fact that this was such a twist and almost a completely different version of that.

The most stand out performance of all in the entire film has definitely got to be that of Helena Bonham Carter. SHE WAS AMAZING! I have seen LOADS of her films, but this one was definitely my favourite for her. She portrayed the Red Queen so so well, it was an incredible thing to watch. I truly believe that her performance was Oscar-worthy.

Johnny Depp’s performance was not that great. He was good as usual, but I think he played his character a bit too much like Willy Wonka from “Charlie And The Chocolate Factory”. Although, when he ran, the style was identical to Captain Jack Sparrow ๐Ÿ˜› (Pirates Of The Carribean). I thought that his character was a little bit dry to tell the truth.

Alice herself, played by Mia Wasikowska, was very good. I’ve never seen her in a movie before and for a first-see performance, I thought she fit the part very well and did great justice to a Tim Burton film.

However… My ALL TIME FAVOURITE character was the CHESIRE CAT!! ๐Ÿ˜€

That big, fat, rolly blue-striped ball of fluff was adorable lol.

All in all, the story line was gripping, interesting and different. The cast was fabulous and each actor did their character 100% justice, and the special effects were amazing. I was hooked the whole time and wasn’t constantly checking the time to see how much longer we had left.

I give this film a 7 1/2 out of 10 and HIGHLY recommend it to anybody considering going to see it ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great Sunday night.

xoxo

Entry filed under: life. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

BUSY DAY! + Good news! :D Morning Pilates

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


