The “Back On Track” challenge.

March 14, 2010 at 5:02 am 4 comments

I haven’t really said anything about this, but my “healthy” lifestyle habits are severely lacking at the moment and I’m starting to notice the consequences both physically and mentally.

It’s really getting me down and I’m making excuses for myself like “oh, I can’t, I don’t have time to exercise today, I’m too busy” and “It doesn’t matter if I eat 3 pieces of cake, I do enough exercise to compensate (which currently I do NOT!)“.

My mind-frame is terrible at the moment and it is TIME TO MAKE A CHANGE!

So from now on, March 14th until further notice, I am declaring this the “Back On Track” challenge for myself.

I can’t stand the way things are right now and so I’m going to make a few changes…

Current Habits:

  • Severe lack of exercise.
  • Excessive amounts of high fat/high sugar, foods.
  • Not enough water
  • Not enough sleep
  • Excuse making

Tangible Goals:

  • Substitute ice cream/chocolate/baking etc, for fruit or Green Tea
  • Aim for a minimum of 6 hours exercise each week
  • Exercise in the evenings to help aid sleep
  • Cut out any foods/beverages/habits that may be encouraging sleep loss.

Other things I plan to do are to work on my time management skills so I can find the time to exercise for at least 1 hour each day.

Now that daylight savings are very fast approaching, it’s dark until late in the morning and dark very early on in the evenings and it will only get worse.

The only positive thing about winter is that it is cool enough to exercise later on in the day, so my plan is to continue getting up at 6am but instead of exercising (I hate running in the dark), I’ll complete whatever homework there is to do, as opposed to doing it in the evenings like I’ve been doing at the moment.

If I can get homework out of the way in the mornings then that will leave the evenings free for exercise! πŸ™‚

My self-discipline has been terrible recently too… Secretly, I think it may have to do with stress. Eating chocolate takes me to my “happy place”, which in the long run is the polar opposite…

I’m going to try and exercise a different mind set to help me eat better. It’s not like me to binge on junk food everyday… :S

Anyway, I shall keep you well updated with my progress. I’ll try to do a report at the end of each week to reflect on how I’ve done.

I’m also going to start keeping a food diary. I’ve heard that this has helped many many others in the quest to eat better, I’ve never really kept a food diary before so I’m open to trying it!

Feel free to join me in this mission! πŸ˜€

In other news…

I’m just going to talk about this here and now. Last night Dallas and I made a mutual decision to end our relationship.

It wasn’t messy or dramatic, we just agreed that right now we’re both so committed in other areas that we can’t give each other 100%.

We’ve agreed to stay the best of friends which I am delighted about πŸ™‚ He’s a stellar guy.

Anyway, it’s been a huge weekend and I still have so much work to get done…

Hope you’ve all had a fabulous Sunday.

Goodnight, xoxo

Entry filed under: goals, Health. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Tips for New Runners Starting Out Awesome Workout songs

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Meg  |  March 16, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    Hi! Just letting you know that someone is out there reading your blog. I love it. Most of the other healthy living blogs are by people in their 20s and 30s, so it’s great to read one by someone my age. You’ve inspired me to start running. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 2. Samantha  |  March 18, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    Ditto to the above comment! Jenny I tried to send you an email but it bounced back…what’s your email address?

    Reply
  • […] March 22, 2010 · Leave a Comment So as you guys probably know, 1 week ago I decided to start keeping a food diary to monitor what I was eating so I could properly identify areas that I needed to improve one ( in conjunction with theΒ “Back On Track” challenge). […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


