First ever “Brick” workout + a few things learnt…

March 20, 2010 at 5:51 am 1 comment

Last night I tried out ZUMBA with mum for the first time…

Let’s just say I won’t be giving up my day job to become a latin dancer anytime soon…. LOL! I am by no means a natural dancer.
Some people have that natural talent and that grace, I do not.

It was definitely worth a go though 🙂 Even if it didn’t really get my heart rate up and I had 2 left feet, it was good for a laugh.

Last night was also the first time I tried a new flavour of ice-cream that my friends have been raving about…. IT. WAS. AMAZING.It was like cookies and cream but MINT flavour! 😀 GENIUS!

I discovered something else last night… I DO NOT like Turkey. Bleeehhh. I had a Turkey Sub from Subway for dinner and as soon as I’d had the first bite I regretted not getting teryaki chicken instead 😦

Needless to say, I will NOT be getting Turkey again.

Anyway! Onto today’s events:

I had a pretty exciting day really, I completed my first ever “brick” workout. A “brick” is where you complete 2 sections of a triathlon event under the same conditions.

I’d never done this before and I’d never gone on a double-digit (in miles) cycle before, or really just a bike ride that exceeds 1 hour. So naturally, always one to thrive off a challenge, my thoughts were “BRING IT ON!!”

I pre-fueled with a toasted wholemeal bagel with lite cream cheese and sundried tomatoes. It was tastttyyy 🙂 It was a good choice too, kept me adequately fueled for as long as I needed it.

I left at about 1.50pm (I’d been running errands with Mum all morning) and had a 20km route mapped out. Something I hadn’t considered was HOW DAMN WINDY it’d be on the way to the turning point! The plan was to cycle out to the Whakatane Airport and back again which was roughly 20-21 kilometers in total.

I wish I took a photo of what I was wearing, hahahahaha. I looked so funny, I was wearing dark blue cycling pants and a pink, orange and yellow fluro cycling top. The pants were so weird, it felt like I was wearing a nappy.
Despite looking hilarious, I go by the saying “safety first”, so I don’t mind looking like an idiot if it means I have better visibility and a lower risk of being accidently run off the road by a person who couldn’t see me.

Well, I got lost on the way there (to the WHK readers- yes I know, stupid and generally impossible), the wind was so bad it slowed me down dramatically and I had bugs flying at my face left, right and center. I even had a wasp along for the ride on my shoe for the first 20 minutes. Oh and at one point, a massive butterfly flew at my face lol. It smacked me in the eyebrow and gave me a hell of a fright!

It took me a shocking 40 minutes to get to the airport due to the wind and getting lost (lol), and 28 to get back. It should really have taken me 28 to get there too but oh well. It was an awesome workout!! I used a different bike too, I’m borrowing it from a friend. It felt great! (aside from the lack of gel seating which I have on the other bike). I think this bike is a much better fit for me because I felt no knee pain whatsoever which was a huge difference. I was a bit wobbly to start with because I wasn’t used to it but I soon got the hang of things.

Anywho, once I got back 1 hour, 8 minutes and 11 seconds later, I had a stretch, ate half a banana and got dressed into my running clothes for my run. I feel bad, I’ve been neglecting my training schedule so bad lately. This is what I should be doing:

But this is what I HAVE been doing…:

(I think from now on I’m really going to have to make more of an effort to follow the plan. Even if it means doing “two-a-day’s”)

My body did not adjust so well to being thrown into running so soon after a huge workout. It was screaming at me as if to say “what are you doing?!? We’re donezo for the day!”, as a result, it was quite hard to get any sort of momentum going. My legs felt like iron rods and it was hard to go fast, my calf muscles were burning from more pressure after the cycle…

It was a struggle but I did feel great when I came home 🙂 I had an awesome stretch and instantly felt better. I ate the other half of my banana and showered.

I was practically chewing off my arm by time I was done in the shower (and not surprisingly either! I calculated that I burned approximately 825 Calories/3465 Kilojoules in my workout today!), so I swiftly made a toasted sandwich containing baked beans, tomato, cheese and beetroot. It was gooooooooood 🙂

I followed that up with a small serving of mint cookie smash ice-cream. Nom nom nom!

Anyways, I’m off to make a Green Monster now. That’ll top off my eats for the night.

Have a good one!
xoxo

Entry filed under: Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Things that make me happy :) Quizzzzzzzzzzzz

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. ZUUUMBA! | The Healthy Teenager  |  August 20, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    […] it. It lacks that “party” atmosphere), but it was the first class I ever went to for zumba. Remember this post? The first time I went I didn’t really enjoy it because it wasn’t intense enough. I like […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


