A review of my week of having a food diary.

March 22, 2010 at 8:28 am Leave a comment

So as you guys probably know, 1 week ago I decided to start keeping a food diary to monitor what I was eating so I could properly identify areas that I needed to improve one ( in conjunction with the “Back On Track” challenge).

I actually found it really really interesting! It was interesting to put things in perspective. I have this crazy mentality that I eat way too much all the time but at the end of each day when I reflected over my eats for the day, I always got a shock at how little I ate. It was a bit of a wake up call, I definitely need to be eating more vegetables and more protein.

I must say though that initially, I WAS eating a LOT. I’m not sure what happened over that week but by the last Sunday (yesterday), I had basically cut my daily food intake in half. It was a seriously dramatic change and I’m not entirely sure why because I did A LOT of high intensity exercise towards the end of the week… Could be down to the protein shakes I’ve been drinking every morning? Who knows.

I’ll give you an example:

Monday 15th: Pre-workout- Half a banana + One slice of bread with Hummus
Breakfast: 2 pieces of toast w/ tomato, Half a banana, protein shake w/ rice milk.
Interval: 1 Banana, Caramel Slice, Walnuts.
Lunch: Half a can of baked beans.
Afternoon Snack: Small bowl of ice cream, 3 pieces of Caramel Slice, 2 Date Crunch Balls.
Dinner: Noodles, tofu + Veggies, Salad.
Supper: Golden Queen Peach, 1 Caramel Slice.

Compared to…

Monday 22nd: Breakfast: Toasted Bagel w/ Peanut Butter and Banana, Protein Shake.
Interval: A few Grapes, Broken Bunken.
Lunch: Marmite Sandwich.
Afterschool: Mint Cookie Smash Ice Cream.
Pre-Workout: Toasted Bagel w/ Peanut Butter and Banana.
Dinner: Fish, Salad. Milo,
Snack: 2 Weetbix + Milk.

Can’t explain my loss of appetite over the week, but I’m happy about it. Not because I want to eat less but because generally my food choices are smarter and healthier which is what is most important to me.
I think I’ll keep up the food diary, it’s great to put things in perspective and I’ll be able to clearly see the areas of my diet that need improving on.

I had an excellent workout today by the way. I fully broke the rules though 😦 On my training plan I was meant to run 7 minutes with a 2 minute walking break, 3 times… Well, I ended up running for 40 minutes straight… BAD decision. I didn’t feel any pain (just stiffness in my knees), but that’s not the point. If I don’t follow the plan, I’ll wind up injuring myself again which is NOT what I want! I just get so caught up in the “zone” of running and I enjoy it so much I don’t want to stop… The running bug is brutal!

After my 40 minute run I cycled for 20 minutes on the stationary bike followed by a nice long stretch.

Anyway, I’m kicking back, watching Desperate Housewives atm 🙂 It finishes soon and I’m going to bed! I’m tired and haven’t been sleeping well lately.

Fingers crossed I sleep well tonight :S

xoxo

Entry filed under: Fitness, Health, Nutrition, running. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Quizzzzzzzzzzzz Pictures

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


