Unexpected turn of events.

April 3, 2010 at 4:26 am 1 comment

002

This morning I got up, ate my pre-run fuel of a toasted bagel with peanut butter and Jam and half a banana, drank my cup of coffee and large glass of water and head out the door.

001

I ran for a slow 42 minutes and 34 seconds. I worked it out to be 6.2 kilometres. I felt great through the entire run and I felt as though I  could’ve run for another 3 hours! Thing was, my knees were HURTING BAD!
Not in the usual place though :/ This time they were hurting on the INSIDES (???) rather than the outside as usual. I have no idea what was up with that, but since the pain wasn’t debilitating I didn’t stop. I just carried on slowly on the grass until I reached home. Once I got home I stretched and iced my knees for ten minutes, they felt fine afterwards.

I showered and was just about to get my 2 breakfast of the day, by now it was about 10.20am, when I received a phone call…………………..
FROM MY BOSS! Saying that I was rostered on to work today from 10 until 4 and I should be in and could I come in as soon as possible.

I had a big freak out because I had absolutely no knowledge whatsoever that I was meant to be working, I hadn’t seen that shift when I looked at the roster last week. Never the less, I wolfed down breakfast which was awful- 2 pieces of toast with extra-lite cream cheese and COLD baked beans. Bleh!

I styled my hair quicker than ever and threw together “lunch” and my “snack” which was 1 banana, 1 apple and a small serving of fejoa crumble. I hopped on my scooter and took off as quick as legally possible.
Tell you what, 50 k’s per hour seems RREEAALLL slow when you’re running an hour late to work.

Once I got there, it was HECTIC! We were flat out all day with our easter sale. Good thing was though that it meant the day absolutely flew by and before I knew it it was 4pm and time for me to head home.

Once I got home I ate a couple of cheds crackers with sliced pickle on top, then 2 squares of chocolate. What I was REALLY craving though was a 6-inch ham sub from Subway, which thankfully was today’s “sub of the day”.

I drove all the way into town just to get a sub lol. I’m impossible when I’m craving something in particular. I will not be satisfied unless I eat that particular food. I ordered a 6-inch sub on Wheat bread with Ham, all the salads (apart from Jalapenos) and sweet onion + honey mustard sauce. I skipped the cheese today, that’s something I can do without and it doesn’t really make a dramatic change to the taste of the sub so no losses there.

I slept terribly last night and was freaked out by a shallow earthquake we had around midnight so my heart was pumping for ages and I couldn’t relax. I’m exhausted and hope to sleep well tonight!!!!!

Off to Tauranga tomorrow in preparation to depart to Waiouru!! I’m going to finish packing my bags tonight 😉

See you later!
xoxo

Entry filed under: Fitness, Health, Injury, running. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

I don’t think you’re ready for this cuteness. Packing for a trip to the Army

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. B. Guile  |  May 13, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    22 years in the Army, 230+ parachute jumps, carrying heavy loads and running 20 to 40 miles per week made my knees a wreck. Now in my early 50’s I have an exceptional degree of relief through using pharmaceutical grade Glucosamine and Omega 3 Fatty Acid supplements.
    You look like my 16 year old daughter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


