New habits + an unusual problem….

May 7, 2010 at 4:10 am 3 comments

Hey guys!! I’m baaackk 🙂

Did you miss me? 😉
I’ve decided to resume regular blogging since I think I’ve successfully made it “back on track”. I’m very happy with my lifestyle at the moment, and let me tell you.. There have been some major changes!!

Where to begin…!?!

Well firstly, I have taken up JuJitsu. This may be a surprise for some of you, but throughout my entire life I’ve had something of a fascination with Martial Arts and I’ve always wanted to try it, but somehow have never found the courage to be proactive about it. Body Combat was a start for me but I still wanted to take things further. So when I discovered that they now hold JuJitsu classes twice a week at my gym, I was ecstatic and came along to the next class to check it out.

It. Was. AWESOME!

It was a whole new world of exercise and empowerment. There is something so uplifting about knowing you have the ability to flip someone on their back no matter how big or small they are.

I’ve been to 2 classes so far and I’m already hooked. I’m bruised everywhere in places I’ve never been bruised before, but it’s worth it 🙂

Last night I went the extra mile and at 5pm I went to JuJitsu for an hour, then at 6 I headed to Body Combat from 6.15-7.15pm! I was sooo stuffed! It felt great though 🙂 and it’s very satisfying to know that I gave it %100.

I’m definitely going to keep JuJitsu up, it helped me to be so calm and relaxed after a particularly bad day at school. I think that if I keep this up I’ll be able to get through the year maintaining a calm, relaxed mindset 🙂

There are 2 classes a week that I can attend and I plan to go to both, but obviously one of the classes are on the same night as Body Combat. I can make it to both classes if I skip the conditioning for Jujitsu. I’ll be super stuffed by the time I come home from it all but hey, I think it’ll be worth it 🙂 If it’s too much then I’ll drop body combat. I have to pay for that class each week, whereas I can go to Jujitsu whenever for free with my gym membership.

I also went to Zumba on Monday night again! hahaha. I’m sorry, but that class just does not do it for me eh. I tried to like it but it’s just not happening. Think I’ll stick to my usual cardio training on Monday nights 🙂

After the first JuJitsu class I attended my knee’s felt really REALLY bad. I had to take extremely strong pain killers and use a ton of anti-flamme, just to be able to sit down and stand back up again. I concentrated on my technique last night to see if I could alter it slightly in a way that meant less pressure on my knees and I think it worked. They felt heaps better after class last night.

Anyway, in other news…

I have an unusual problem at the moment…

My problem is that in the last 1-2 weeks, I’ve developed a horrible tendency to be insanely fussy with my food. It’s crazy, for example, Feijoas I have loved all my life, and then now I hate them. I can’t stand the smell or the taste, even looking at them turns my stomach! This is so weird!! I can’t understand how I can go from loving something, to hating it virtually overnight!

Other examples are things like waking up in the morning, starving and usually I’ll be craving something and know exactly what I want. But now when I wake up, nothing appeals to me. I’m hungry but I don’t want anything to eat.

I’ve been having this same problem coming home from the gym. I’ll want something to eat but there’s nothing appealing so I won’t eat at all.

I’ve been skipping meals due to this problem and it’s BAD!

Does anyone have any advice on how to counter this? Or help me love food again?!?

Help!!!!

That’s all for now folks 🙂 If you have any advice, please feel free to leave a comment in the comments section. I welcome ALL (positive) comments 🙂

I shall leave you with some photos. I’m off to the gym soon for an easy 40 minute cardio sesh before kicking back tonight, watching the new season of America’s Next Top Model and pulling my Bass guitar out of retirement to see if I can remember any old favourites. Have a fabulous Friday night!

008 016005066084118

Entry filed under: Fitness, Health, Injury, Nutrition, photography. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Video blog to catch up on what’s been happening. Time to face the facts.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda (Amanda "Runs")  |  May 8, 2010 at 11:48 am

    I just usually don’t feel hungry in the morning. But my mom forces me to eat anyway, so my advice is to eat something small, like a fig newton or pita chips. b/c if you don’t you will probably pass out. I’ve done it before, and sometimes it’s quite embarrasing. (swim team picture day. Let’s just say I wasn’t in that shot..)

    Reply
  • 2. ME  |  May 9, 2010 at 7:30 am

    Maybe you’re pregnant?
    Worth checking it out, just in case…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


