Exercise Addiction.

May 21, 2010 at 4:10 am Leave a comment

I am reading the most amazing book at the moment. I was already reading 2 books but when my eyes fell upon it’s shiny, bright cover with bold lettering, I forgot about everything, issued it out and started reading. I AM HOOKED!

r319672_1422270

This is the insane, inspiring and amazing story of a man called Dean Karnazes, who had a vision, then set about achieving it. He had a goal to run 50 marathons in 50 different States in 50 Consecutive days. Sounds totally crazy right? I know, I feel exhausted just READING about his crazy endeavour. I’m up to marathon number 9 in his book, and even THAT is an insane amount. Most people wouldn’t even imagine running 9 Marathons in their entire life let alone day after day!

This book contains many useful tips and suggestions for runners or even parents of budding youth. It’s also hugely motivational. Since beginning the book, I’ve just been ITCHING to run, but I know I have to be careful because of my knees 😦

I’ve decided that tonight I’ll go to the gym for a cardio workout of a 30 minute run on the Dreadmill and a 30 minute cycle. I’m mindful of pain and I’ve PROMISED myself that I won’t be stubborn, if it hurts, I’ll stop. I can’t afford to aggravate any injuries at the moment. I’m going great guns with Jujitsu and I don’t want to sabotage that.

A lot of people struggle to exercise and maintain it, but I have to say, I think a lot of them probably don’t give it enough of a chance. When you get into it and start seeing results (e.g. increase in fitness, muscle tone etc.) you start to develop a sort of addiction to exercise. It becomes so that you are unhappy if you miss a day of it. It becomes a way to relax, de-stress and feel good for doing something great for your body.

Exercise is great for people suffering alcohol,drug or other addictions, because they say you can’t fix an addictive nature, so why not replace that harmful addiction with a good one?

I find that when I don’t exercise on a regular basis, I notice a severe lack in energy and I struggle to sleep. I’m miserable, I nap all the time and when I DO start to exercise again it’s really really difficult. I took a week off last week due to a cold (I don’t exercise while I’m sick because I don’t want to prolong or worsen the sickness), and when I started back up on Monday with an easy, low-key Zumba class, I found it extremely difficult to finish because I was exhausted. It pays to keep it up 🙂

Anyway, I’m off to the gym soon so I’m gonna go put my gym gear bag together. Have a great night!

xoxo

Entry filed under: running. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

EARTHQUAKES!!! Training Your Body and Mind.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


