Day 2- Your Favourite Movie

May 31, 2010 at 4:01 am Leave a comment

This is EASY! There is one movie that I loved from the moment I saw it right until the hundredth, it extremely intense, stirs up huge amounts of emotion and is one that I firmly believe should be shown throughout high school all over the world.

I present to you…. Thirteen!!!

This film honestly stirs up more emotion in my heart than any other film I’ve seen. It’s so frighteningly realistic and sad… SO well done though. Here’s a brief synopsis:

At the edge of adolescence, Tracy is a smart straight-A student–if not a little naive (it seems…she smokes and she cuts to alleviate the emotional pain she suffers from having a broken home and hating her mom’s boyfriend, Brady.) When she befriends Evie, the most popular and beautiful girl in school, Evie leads Tracy down a path of sex, drugs and petty crime (like stealing money from purses and from stores). As Tracy transforms herself and her identity, her world becomes a boiling, emotional cauldron fueled by new tensions between her and her mother–as well as, teachers and old friends. Written by Miss Kittin

It’s a fantastic movie. I absolutely love it and god knows how many times I’ve seen it. There isn’t one person that I’ve shown it to that didn’t like it, positive reactions all round!

There are two that come in close at 2nd place favourites… First one is…. Girl, Interrupted!

This stars the lovely Winona Ryder who gets submitted to a psychiatric ward for “attempted suicide” which she profusely denies, claiming she had a “headache”, which caused her to follow a bottle of aspirin with vodka. It’s based off a true story and once again captures the truth and reality of some people who are in that situation, stirring up thoughts and emotions and bringing you face to face with issues you may never have considered before.

Here’s a brief Synopsis for Girl, Interrupted:

Susanna is depressed and directionless after finishing high school in the late 1960’s. A suicide attempt lands her in Claymore, a mental institution. She befriends the band of troubled women in her ward (Georgina the pathological liar, the sexually abused Daisy, the burn victim Polly) but falls under the hypnotic sway of Lisa, the wildest and most hardened of the bunch. Will Susanna “drop anchor” at Claymore and perpetually act out like Lisa, or will she finally pull her mind together and leave institutional life behind? Written by Martin Lewison <mlewison@utk.edu>

Next on the list is True Romance:

This is an exciting, action packed film about a couple in love who happen to have pretty stink luck. But true love prevails in the end, after a massive shoot up, leaving all but themselves dead.

Here’s a brief synopsis for True Romance:

Clarence and Alabama are newlyweds who acquire an unexpected wedding present. Unknown to the blissfully happy couple, ruthless gangsters are on their tail, determined to reclaim their lost property Written by Rob Hartill

So there you have it! My favourite of all time is Thirteen, that’ll never change.

What’s your favourite?

xoxo

Entry filed under: film/media. Tags: , , , , , .

Day 1- Your Favourite Song Article: The Pressures of Media and Society on Body Image

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


