Today was a good day.

June 22, 2010 at 10:08 am Leave a comment

Today worked. Today I accomplished what I woke up and set out to accomplish at 6.30am this morning.

I was healthy.

I know that sounds ridiculous because that is something that should come so naturally and easily to me, but it actually requires a lot of effort and will power to make it through just one day without slipping up. It’s like a vicious cycle.. I crave food, I eat, I feel terrible and want to cry but then I figure what’s the point? too late to go back now… and I eat some more.

Today I broke that cycle and it wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be. How did I avoid temptation? By walking away.
“Just walk away… Just walk away… Just walk away…”
It works, instead of cutting myself a massive slice of Lemon Meringue Pie that my mother baked this afternoon, I walked away and made myself a cup of Green Tea instead. I just told myself that by not having any, I wasn’t torturing myself by restricting my intake and already knowing how great it tastes.

I’m happy to say that I have gone this full day eating nothing but healthy, nutritious food and it feels absolutely amazing to have achieved that 🙂 Now I know I can get through just one day, I feel like I can really get back on track and keep this up like I already did for so, SO long.

Not only that, but I sat down today and really really thought hard about how I overcame the Winter hump last year with my exercise and then I remembered how I’d done it.

My grandfather has a large property in his back yard which up until very recently has been a tennis court. He decided that because it was rarely used, he’d take the tennis net out and leave it as a very large and tidy property. Last year during winter when I didn’t want to stray too far from my house or go all the way to the gym I’d set up a circuit on the tennis court and put together a 35-45 minute playlist on my Ipod and do something different for each song.

I did that today, I exercised for 45 minutes and then rollerbladed for a further 10 before it was dinner time. I felt great 😀 I think I’ve found the antedote for my winter blues and the future is looking bright. Already within 24 hours I’ve made a change that makes me feel happy and relieved.

Thank you, internet, for simply providing a place for me to vent my emotions and make important realizations about myself.

Expect more from me in the way of progress. Now I plan to hit the sack and get some seriously good sleep.

Goodnight!

Entry filed under: Body Confidence, Health. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

I don’t know why I’m messing around… I know I’m responsible for my own happiness. Grandma- College Herald Entry

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


