Grandma- College Herald Entry

June 29, 2010 at 5:46 am Leave a comment

Your beautiful, smiling face. So bright and welcoming, so happy and fulfilled, is my safe haven. Your embrace, so full of love, so secure, the best place I could ever hope to be. Your spirit is uplifting, you’re a joy to everyone you meet, your positive energy is infectious.

Everybody loves you, your heart is full and constantly giving, your life is filled with love.

But then disaster strikes… A lump. One small lump to cause such grief. The lump spreads across your body, firstly to your Lymph Nodes and from there it becomes unstoppable, getting worse and worse.

Before long you’re sicker than ever, the treatment breaks you down and our hearts break more and more every day. Why you? You’re such a beautiful person, you shouldn’t have to endure this pain. The inevitable soon comes, you were strong, but not quite strong enough to beat Breast Cancer.

That’s the story of my Grandma’s battle with breast cancer. The Breast Cancer Foundation is one to be supported 100%. Everyday they are one step closer to discovering a miraculous cure for the ruthless and deadly disease. They can help people such as my Grandma, who passed away from Breast Cancer 9 years ago, to find their feet, have support and feel safe in the knowledge that the New Zealand Breast Cancer foundation is there to give them hope. Breast Cancer is the most common disease among women with 2,600 women being diagnosed with it each year. If you support the NZBCF then you are helping them fund ground-breaking research to get us closer and closer to minimizing those statistics. The Breast Cancer Foundation not only help fund research, medical grants and scholarships, but they focus their attention hugely on stressing the importance of early detection. They help save thousands of women every year simply by helping them become aware of how to properly examine themselves to stay safe. I recently discovered that a very close Aunt of mine has been diagnosed with breast cancer, therefore increasing my passion for the Breast Cancer Foundation and my mission to raise awareness and gain more and more support for the NZBCF. As individuals we have so much power to make a contribution to society, and a great way to do that is by supporting the New Zealand Breast Cancer Foundation.

Entry filed under: writing. Tags: , , , , , .

Today was a good day. Exciting Holidays!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


