What I Learnt from “Winning By Losing”

July 16, 2010 at 1:57 am Leave a comment

As some of you may know, I’ve been reading Jillian Michaels’ book “Winning By Losing”. I just finished it yesterday and I flicked through once more when I was done to review and make notes on things I needed to remember. I thought I’d post my list on here for you guys to see as it might be helpful in some way. It was an excellent book and really really does help you to gain a positive frame of mind and the desire to make positive change. I like the way Jillian doesn’t make you feel bad about any of your past habits. She gives you the chance to start over completely new and forget the past as the past does not define you. I wasn’t made to feel guilty and self-ashamed about myself, I was just optimistic about the future and the person I’ve made the commitment to become.

auckland 2010 108

  • Shop the perimeter of the supermarket. This means fruit, vegetables, skim milk and lean meats.
  • Become familiar with the way my body feels and responds to particular foods.
  • Keep a food and exercise journal to plan meals, record what I eat and plan workouts according to Jillian’s recommendations.
  • Keep up with my goals. Put them somewhere I can see and be reminded of them.
  • Learn to make healthy food substitutions.
  • Aim for 60 minute workouts
  • Speak to people to help improve my support network so they’re aware of what I’m aiming to achieve
  • Focus on behaviour modification, e.g. Don’t bring money to school so I won’t be tempted to buy junk food
  • Rearrange my bedroom and life to suit the changes and help me get in and stay in the right headspace
  • Perfect organisational skills to be able to fit everything into my life
  • Count calories for the first 4 weeks or so to help me develop good habits
  • “Out Of Sight, Out Of Mind”, I can’t eat junk food if it’s not there
  • Focus on strong women in society as role models. There’s a strong woman in every area
  • Remember to reward myself
  • READ FOOD LABELS!
  • Make checklists to prioritise
  • Don’t be afraid to experiment with different forms of exercise and different foods
  • If I slip up or fall off the bandwagon, don’t throw in the towel completely, get straight back into my usual habits and routine
  • If I feel like snacking mindlessly, as myself if I’m truly hungry and do I actually NEED food?
  • Make decisions about things in my life that may or may not be conducive to success
  • Put in the work now and reap the rewards later
  • Learn to cook for myself and how to shop for the right food
  • Get up earlier to fit more into my day
  • Refer back to book if I’m lacking motivation
  • Make time for myself, so matter what it takes
  • Cut back on computer and internet time

So there you have it! It’s a long list but it’s helpful to me. I wrote up my goals on a big piece of A3 paper and put them on my bedroom wall where I can see them everyday to help keep me motivated. I also totally cleaned my room and downgraded my bed from a king to a single!! I’ve been sleeping in a queen or a king for two years, so it’s a big of an odd transition, but I’m really happy and I achieved my aim of helping to feel like my mind is less cluttered. I also feel more independent now… oddly enough. It’s like it’s symbolic that there’s only room for myself in my goals.

jillian-michaels-2008 

This morning I went to the gym to do my first ever Jillian Michaels style workout. I worked my lower body and IT KILLED ME!! (In a good way ;] ) I was achin’ afterwards! My legs still feel like jelly and I’m so tired that I’ll go have an afternoon nap after this, but I can definitely see how her clients and the biggest loser contestants have such incredible results. Tomorrow I’ll focus on my upper body and then Sunday will be a cardio session.

Enjoy the rest of your Friday afternoon!

xoxo

Entry filed under: Fitness, goals, Health. Tags: , , , , , .

Exciting Holidays!!! Short Films

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


