Short Films

July 24, 2010 at 9:09 am 2 comments

Recently I have had a growing interest in short film. It kind of sparked about a month or two ago and I started watching a few videos on youtube and reading some information on the internet about how to create them, what different kinds there are and what you need. I never bothered to try anything because it all seemed way out of my league and a huge undertaking to get anything done, but when the teacher of my Elective, Digital Film, explained that we would be making our OWN short films throughout the duration of this term, my hopes were ignited. She explained how simple it can be to create just something small with a small idea and have it be up to three minutes long. I also learnt about Stop-Motion film, a kind that I’d never considered before.

We watched some videos in class and I immediately decided that it is a form of film that I would definitely like to have a go at. Here are a few of the stop-motion films we watched in class:

Pretty amazing huh??! These people are so talented!!! I’d give anything to be that talented! I guess it’s all practice and experience 🙂 Maybe I’ll get there one day…

Anyway, speaking of which, today I went out and bought a cute little Polly Pocket set to use for a stop-motion film and tonight I tried my hand at it.

It.

Was.

HARD!!!

It is SO not as easy and smooth as they make it look in the videos!!! It’s a very long, slow process that involves a lot of tweaking and photo taking. I created a 51 second video and it’s rugged as. It’s nowhere near as smooth transitioning as the ones you see above. I did my best though and did what I could given my lack of experience and aching back, neck and knees. Also, Polly Pockets turn out to be rather difficult to “tweak” :/ It’s hard to get them to cooperate efficiently lol. The hardest part actually was trying to keep the camera balanced and not move anything so that the picture wouldn’t change too dramatically in the wrong ways. Clearly I did not do that well, but like I said, I did my best!

Here’s the video I made:

I sort of gave up in the end. But hey, it’s a start! Right?

I really look forward to creating some more and trying some new ideas. I have a lot brewing and I’m excited to practice so that maybe one day in a few years time I’ll be producing works of art like those examples I showed you.

Do you have any interest in film? Have you ever tried to create a short film before? What’s your favourite short film that you’ve ever seen?

Entry filed under: Creativity, film/media. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

What I Learnt from “Winning By Losing” It’s all happening this week.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stuart  |  July 24, 2010 at 9:38 am

    I’m leaving for film school in about 4ish weeks so… yeah I’d say I have an interest in film, haha. That’s not a bad first attempt at stop-motion, but a tripod and some good lighting can go a long way 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. kokrorisostotinone  |  August 1, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Yeah, my interest for film and stop-motion is quite huge. I’ve done some experimenting, and I’m right in the planning of my first short movie 😀
    That’s a good first try! You should probably get a tripod or something similar, so that it gets a wee bit more stable.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


