Jujitsu- Life Saver

August 5, 2010 at 4:11 am Leave a comment

I’m a terrible sufferer of stress, when I get stressed, I REALLY get stressed! I’ve spent a huge part of my life looking for a way to cope with it and have never found anything until… I tried out Jujitsu. When I first started, I didn’t realize that it would be something that I would find so rewarding and satisfying. The feeling you get when you’re working with someone in a friendly way, but yet relieving stress too because, obviously, a certain level of force is required.

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu is a martial art, combat sport and a self-defence system that focuses on grappling and especially ground fighting. The art was derived from the Japanese martial art of Kodokan judo in the early 20th century, which was itself developed from a number of schools of Japanese jujutsu in the 19th century.

It promotes the principle that a smaller, weaker person can successfully defend themselves against a bigger, stronger assailant by using leverage and proper technique—most notably by applying joint-locks and chokeholds to defeat the other person. Brazilian Jiu Jitsu can be trained for sport grappling tournaments (gi and no-gi) and mixed martial arts (MMA) competition or self-defence. Sparring (commonly referred to as ‘rolling’) and live drilling play a major role in training, and a premium is placed on performance, especially in competition.

source

Jujitsu has helped me in so many ways, not only do you feel better physically as you get stronger and more flexible, but you feel better mentally because you feel better about yourself, less stressed and it teaches you to be tolerant and relaxed. Also, every single person I’ve met through Jujitsu has been an amazing and wonderful person. They’re always so friendly and welcoming and being surrounding by that environment for upwards of 4 hours a week can really help you think differently.

At the moment I have a LOT of stress in my life to do with applying for Wintec, applying for a Student Loan at the same time, completing school to the best of my ability, I’m flying in an aeroplane for the first time in my entire LIFE tomorrow night (off to Wellington for my Just Write, writers workshop!!) and a ton of other stuff that’s weighing on my mind. I’ve just returned to Jujitsu after my huge patch of laziness and I couldn’t have made a better decision for myself. It’s the perfect release to help me manage all the other things in my life, it’s all the BEST form of exercise I’ve experienced in terms of overall body workout and getting your heart rate up.

Right now I’m off to get changed, collect my friend and head to Jujitsu!! Now I WAS going to leave you with some badass videos of Jujitsu, but because I went and used up the broadband by watching too many videos online, I’ll have to do that after the 8th of August when we get more broadband haha.

Until next time, goodnight! xoxo

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

It’s all happening this week. Just Write Training Weekend Recap Part 1!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


