Just Write Training Weekend Recap Part 1!

August 9, 2010 at 4:54 am 1 comment

I have had the most AMAZING weekend of my entire life! This weekend was the weekend of the long-awaited Just Write training weekend as a part of my involvement in the Just Write project.
For those of you who don’t know what the Just Write project is, it’s a part of the Just Focus network (hosted by Global Focus) which aims to strengthen youth voices on important global issues in the New Zealand media.

10 students were selected to take part after an application process. I was one of the lucky ones chosen!

On Friday night I flew down to Wellington after school, and let me just say that before then I had NEVER EVER flown in a plane before. I was so nervous! I had no idea what to expect and I was convinced I was going to lose my luggage or miss my connecting flight to Wellington.
I checked in at the Whakatane airport and waited anxiously.

wellington#1 002

Eventually it was time to board the plane and after much reassurance from the staff that I would be fine and all would run smoothly, I felt comfortable getting on the plane. It was tiny! It seated 20 people and it was very loud. I was amazed when we took off and looked out the window to see all the land beneath us and I was so stunned at the sight, it was unlike anything I’ve ever seen before and it felt surreal. I also got to watch a WICKED sunset.

wellington#1 007 wellington#1 014 wellington#1 016

The trip went super fast and we landed in Auckland and I rushed to catch my connecting flight to take me to Wellington. It was in a MUCH bigger plane this time- and Boeing 747 and it was complete with flight attendants and refreshments! haha. That trip also flew by (like my pun? 😉 lol) and before I knew it we were preparing for landing in Wellington. I didn’t have a clue where to go and a lovely man who I’d made friends with on the flight took me to baggage claim- bless him- otherwise I would’ve been wandering around like a headless chicken. It was at baggage claim that I first met two of the people involved, Jamie (a team member) and Mel, one of the coordinators.

We left the airport once I’d gotten my bags and we went to collect Hells Pizza for dinner before heading to the Capital House where we were staying. As soon as we met the rest of the team there was instant chemistry. We all got along from the moment we met and we connected in such an amazing way. There was no awkward small talk and we hit it off right away. We had a great dinner and then head to our rooms to settle in before coming back down to watch some short films with powerful messages and to eat some delicious fair trade chocolate 🙂

The view of the Wellington lights from my room was AMAZING!!! I tried to capture it on camera but it doesn’t even come CLOSE to doing it justice.

wellington#1 018 wellington#1 019

Watching the movies was great and they held some really really powerful messages. We all talked about a lot of really huge issues that related to the messages in them and didn’t end up getting to bed until 11.30!!! I slept solidly and was up early the next day to prepare for the action-packed day ahead.

Here’s a day-time view from my room:

wellington#1 021 wellington#1 022 wellington#1 023

We got straight into things at 9am in our conference room which looked like this:

wellington#1 024 wellington#1 025 wellington#1 026

We started with a session on Globalisation and how we’re involved, also the key word: Interconnectedness! I could go on for pages on each session, but for the sake of my time and yours I’ll keep the main points pretty simple.

After that we had a workshop on writing basics, things like how to actually WRITE a piece. Relevance, audience, tone, structure and tone. Following that we had a workshop on writing basics part 2 which included interviewing people and researching.

Then we had a session on learning about the Official Information Act and how we can utilise that to the best of our ability. Each workshop ran for 1.5-2 hours and in between we ate LOTS of food.

like this: (my lunch)

wellington2justwrite 001 wellington2justwrite 006
We were fed so well the whole day with scones, cake, what you can see above and more! It was a feast at every meal!

After lunch we decided to get some fresh air and give our minds a chance to recover from the cramming of information we’d had all day. We went for a walk to explore the Capital House grounds.

wellington2justwrite 007 wellington2justwrite 008 wellington2justwrite 009 wellington2justwrite 010 wellington2justwrite 011 wellington2justwrite 012 wellington2justwrite 013 wellington2justwrite 014
Then it was back to work to start planning our podcasts. We had to think of a theme and then branch off from there to think of our own individual podcasts. In amongst all that we managed to lose like, an hour or two and then it was afternoon tea, back to planning and then we had to get ready to go out for dinner and to see a show called “Dog Sees God” at Bats theatre.

We went to see Parliament and have some photos:

wellington2justwrite 026 wellington2justwrite 029
Then we headed to a food court to get some eats before the show.

wellington2justwrite 030 wellington2justwrite 032 
We had quite a wait at Bats before the show started and gave us all a chance to kick back and have some bonding time. We had some good laughs 😀

wellington2justwrite 034

wellington2justwrite 035

The show was AWESOME! The acting was amazing and we all really really enjoyed it. It ended up running a lot later than we expected, but it was well worth it. Once again we had a very late night but an excellent day full of useless information which I think will REALLY help me with my writing which means you can look out for improved articles from me. I’m working on a brand new one at the moment which I’m very excited about.

Stay tuned for part 2 which covers Sunday!

Goodnight, xoxo

Entry filed under: film/media, Travelling, writing. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Jujitsu- Life Saver Just Write Recap Part 2

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Megan G  |  August 12, 2010 at 3:25 am

    Love the sunset pictures! I absolutely love flying, and the views can be incredible. Glad you enjoyed the weekend there! 🙂

    -Megan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


