The glue that holds everything together.

August 17, 2010 at 8:37 am Leave a comment

I had an interesting conversation with Kristine at lunchtime today.

4889635342_dd7bffd9df_b

We were talking about New Zealand food and how much it differs from Norwegian food and that it’s got waaaay more fat and sugar. I said I was feeling really stink at the way my eating habits have completely gone down the drain this winter and that I wanted to make a real effort to improve my diet as best I can. This led us to discuss the things that sort of complete us. We both agreed on one thing: exercise and a healthy diet is the one thing we both need in order to function as regular human beings. For me I struggle to maintain a positive attitude and enjoy anything if one, the other or both of those two things are out of whack.

Because this has been such a particularly bad winter for me in terms of diet, it’s really important for me to remember what makes me tick and how I’m in control and can make a change any time I want, starting from the next meal. As the title says, having a healthy body is the glue that holds everything together. If I’m not healthy my mind feels cluttered and blocked, I feel gross and depressed. I cannot focus on anything and even the things that I enjoy heaps like writing is dissatisfying, I need to de-clutter my mind before I can do anything else. I literally cannot generate useful thoughts if I’m unhealthy.

Spring is fast approaching and I want to sort myself out now so that come summer I’m already in shape and happy so I don’t need to worry or stress about anything, I’ll be able to walk straight onto the beach in my bikini without a second thought. It puzzles me as to why I seem to hit this wall every winter and lose motivation to exercise. I know it’s one of the things I’m most passionate about and I feel amazing while I’m doing it and even better afterward, but like clockwork I get lazy each time. Next winter I will make it my main focus to try and maintain my routine as best I can without being phased by the cold. There are ways around everything!

Because spring is nearly here, I’m looking forward to having exciting spring blog posts! My blog posts from spring through to summer are some of my favourite, and as the exciting events that follow with those seasons there should be some good blogging to follow 🙂

In other news, I have muesli bars in the fridge that I spent an hour working on, using a recipe that I concocted out of thin air. I really hope they’re successful and don’t just fall apart straight out of the tin!

Is there something that is your “glue”? That really completes you and helps you maintain good overall well-being?

Ciao!

xoxo

Entry filed under: Fitness, Health, life, Whakatane. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Inexperience + Pride= Shame ZUUUMBA!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


