Archive for August 20, 2010

ZUUUMBA!

Last night I went to Zumba, a different class from the one I’ve gone to in the past (I usually go to zumba at my gym but I don’t really enjoy it. It lacks that “party” atmosphere), but it was the first class I ever went to for zumba. Remember this post? The first time I went I didn’t really enjoy it because it wasn’t intense enough. I like exercise that really gets my heart rate up and pumping and until last night, I’d never achieved that with Zumba. ‘

Last nights class was awesome! I actually had so much fun and loved (almost) every second. Within the very first song my heart rate was up and I was having a good time, I enjoyed the full hour length first session, and nearly enjoyed all of the second session. I stayed for both sessions with my friend Lily and I think it was a bit much. During the second session my knees began to really really hurt and it made it extremely difficult to give everything my all. I also started to get super hungry and when I get hungry it’s impossible to exercise so I began to drag my feet a little.

Never fear though, there are ways to combat those two problems, firstly: Come prepared with Ibuprofen and Panadol to take either before the first session or halfway through so that my knees don’t hurt and secondly: Eat a better meal beforehand and come prepared with snacks to stay fuelled.

I brought my camera to take photos but I forgot amongst the fun and hype 😦 I’m going again on Monday night (for both sessions) so I’ll try and get a photo then 🙂 I came home from Zumba last night and INHALED my dinner. I could barely wait the 5 minutes it took to heat it up in the microwave, I was so hungry I was about to chew off my arm. I would’ve showered first because I was super sweaty but my stomach just could not wait that long! haha.

I slept like a log last night and was happy to find that when I woke this morning I didn’t have any sore muscles. I was worried I pulled a muscle or something but all was fine 🙂

I would definitely recommend this Zumba class for anyone looking for a fun way to workout. It was the most fun I’ve had working out in a long time. Today I plan to either go to the gym or just take it easy with some Pilates. Maybe I’ll walk the dog and do Pilates? I’d really like to get some fresh air.

Anyway, check out this cool new website. I read about it on Caitlin’s blog and thought it was so cool! It’s called Healthy Living Blogs and it’s a place where different healthy living blogs from all over the world can be listed.

You can sign up to have your blog listed by clicking on the “members” tab and following the instructions.

Anyway, I’m exhausted and it’s only 9am! Aside from Pilates and dog-walking I’ll probably just take it easy.

Here’s a photo of Kristine and I on Mufti Day at school on Thursday. See you guys later! 🙂

 022

August 20, 2010 at 8:49 pm Leave a comment


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.