Archive for August 25, 2010

Find a way to make exercise fun

Exercise is so often viewed in a negative light. You think “oh I’m too lazy”, “oh it’s too hard”, “oh I can’t be bothered” and it’s really no surprise if you go out there, try to run when you hate running and then come home with a bad attitude. The best way to try and incorporate exercise into your life so it’s a regular part of your lifestyle is to find something you love. Find a sport or a hobby that’s physical and do that. You don’t necessarily need to go to the gym everyday and pump out 10k’s on the treadmill or on the stationary bike to stay fit and healthy and see results, and believe me you won’t stick with it with that cycle either. There are loads of fun things you can do for exercise and most of the time you don’t even realise you’re working out! One of my favourites is to go bush walking on a beautiful sunny day with my family or a close friend, I’m very nature-orientated as well as family-orientated so it ends up being a perfect combo for me. I get to see some beautiful sights (especially living in Whakatane, there are SO many beautiful places to check out), catch up with a friend or bond with a family member and get my heart rate pumping at the same time.

Bush walking isn’t the only option though, there’s Zumba if you’re into dancing and I’m pretty sure there are loads of classes in every town/city (I know for a fact that there’s a Zumba class every night somewhere in Whakatane), there’s Pilates which is more relaxed but still a CRAZY INTENSE workout if you’re not so keen on the overly physical side of exercise, take a friend or family member and go for a nice long walk (bring a dog if you have one too, you’ll both benefit) and loads more. You could even go on a leisurely bike ride with a friend and bring a picnic with you, with Summer fast approaching that one would be a really lovely idea. Just be creative and think of ways you can enjoy yourself outdoors rather than inside watching the tv or staring at the computer screen.

Today I stepped outside my comfort zone and tried something I’m not used to and have not done since I was a small child….

ROLLERBLADING!!!!

There are a few key components that are important for rollerblading:

Ipod

001

Drink Bottle

002

A Snack (that’s a Herbalife protein bar) 

005

The actual roller blades (I borrowed mine from a friend)

004

A beautiful sunny day

006

And a dorky attitude to prepare you for indeed, looking like a dork for a little bit

008   

I rollerbladed along the riverbank and was freaking out because I suck and haven’t roller bladed since I was a little kid so I was basically a beginner all over again. I must’ve looked so ridiculous initially and I nearly fell over while people were watching about three times. I was laughed at but oh well, I wasn’t embarrassed because everyone has to start somewhere, right? No one is perfect at anything first time round and I just thought to myself, hey, at least I’m out here DOING something instead of sitting on my backside at home doing nothing. I ended up really enjoying myself and it was great to see the noticeable difference in my skill level from when I first started to when I finished. I went for just under an hour but got bored pretty quickly. That’s an issue I have… serious boredom :/ I was starting to wish I’d packed my running shoes in my bag so I could’ve gone for a decent run after but I had no where to put my roller blades anyway and I wasn’t wearing running-appropriate gear.

Oh well, you live and you learn. I’ll carry on with rollerblading especially with summer approaching, but for future reference I’ll know to bring my running shoes and clothes along with me 😉

I have Jiu Jitsu tomorrow night which should be good and then Zumba on Friday night which should be super intense. Weather permitting I might go for a 10k run on Saturday, but we’ll just have to wait and see.

Goodnight!

xoxo

August 25, 2010 at 4:01 am 1 comment


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.