ONE YEAR BLOGSVERSARY!!!

September 3, 2010 at 8:58 am 2 comments

Can you believe that today is the 1 year anniversary for my blog??!? How insane is that??! I can’t believe that I’ve made it this far with blogging, when I first started I barely expected to keep it up for a month, and now it’s been a whole year! I have come so far since I started JennyLikesToRun that it’s mind-boggling. Time flies so fast… To celebrate I think it’s time to take a look over the past year.

In the past year amongst the documentation on this blog I have (check out the “Top Posts” page for the links):

1. STARTED this blog (obviously)

2. Run cross-country with the intention of doing well for the first time ever (the 2010 one is coming up soon as well)

3. Run my first race EVER!

234 255

4. Walked the 18.5k Toi’s Challenge race with Mum

359 375 5. I got an amazing Running Coach

528

6. I had my first successful relationship… But I won’t post a photo

7. I tried a Green Monster for the first time.. And liked it.

473

8. I injured my hip and knees really badly and had to stop running

556

9. I had an AMAZING Christmas in Auckland with my incredible family.

xmaslunch xmasfamilyphoto dadandixmas 10. I went to White Island

steam-craters 11. Turned 16

12. Went camping at the most beautiful campsite in the world and got flooded out.

144 061 13. I got my first part-time job

14. I lived in the Army for a week on an Army Careers Experience

army army2

15. I took up Jiu Jitsu

16. I won a Just Write writing scholarship and travelled down to Wellington to meet with the group (my first time ever on a plane!!)

wellington2justwrite 045 wellington2justwrite 057 17. I went skiing with my P.E class

skiing 026 18. I got my learner licence

19. I went ice skating for the first time and faced my intense fear of heights on the Fear Fall at Rainbows End in Auckland

auckland 2010 040 auckland 2010 093
20. I was published in the New Zealand Herald twice and in Girlfriend Magazine once.

And you have all followed me on my blog! It’s been a seriously exciting year and of course there was so much more too it than what I’ve stated here. I never actually even realised just what a great year I’ve had until now reflecting back over it. I’ve done some really cool things and I’m really blessed to have been given such amazing opportunities. I have a huge project underway right now which will make or break 2010 in my opinion, it’s something that is so close to my heart and if I pull it off will impact hundreds of people… I’ll reveal all eventually 😉

I’ve learnt a lot after one year of blogging. Amongst the lessons, one thing stands out from all the rest: You have one body and one body only, treat it with the love and respect it deserves through proper nutrition, drinking plenty of water, getting adequate sleep and physical activity. It sounds like a massive cliché but it is so so true. If you treat your body with respect then all other aspects of your life will fall in to place.

I’m really excited to enter my second year of blogging, kicking it off with a bush walk with Kristine tomorrow. I’ve got a personal little challenge going at the moment to get in shape before the school ball in December. I’ve had a particularly bad winter in terms of my health and fitness and now I want to whip my butt back into shape so I look and feel amazing on the night. So far so good 🙂

I hope you’ve all enjoyed one year of healthy living blogging with me! This is a really significant moment for me to have made it this far and I couldn’t have done it without the readers. Thank you all so much and I hope you continue to follow me on my journey!

xoxo

Entry filed under: Blogging, life. Tags: , , , , .

Work hard, reap the rewards. The perfect Saturday

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sharon  |  September 3, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    Congratulations and happy anniversary!

    Reply
  • 2. Megan G  |  September 4, 2010 at 12:47 am

    Congrats on your blogversary! 🙂
    How long was your first race? I’m running my first (a 5k) in October!
    Good luck on your big mystery project! I’m sure you’ll be able to pull it off! Can’t wait to hear about it.

    Meg

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


