Personal Spring Health Challenge 2010

September 10, 2010 at 8:41 am 4 comments

As you know I’ve had this little unofficial “lose weight, get in shape before December” sort of a challenge going for myself, but it’s been pretty difficult to keep it together and so I’ve decided to make it a little different. However, I do not want to put too much pressure on myself in case I struggle with it but basically this is how it’s going to work:

I’ve a had a particularly bad Winter in terms of maintaining a healthy lifestyle and it’s not something you can just snap out of overnight, after all- old habits die hard. Instead, I’m going to make a list of goals and steps to achieve them. They’ll consist of smaller steps to reach the bigger picture because I’m really struggling to get my eating habits in shape. Everyday I’m going to set a mini-goal like “go one day without any junk food whatsoever” and just aim to achieve that particular goal, as opposed to setting a MASSIVE goal like “no more junk food at ALL” because that’s simply unattainable for me. I set these enormous goals and then fail because they’re unrealistic and feel really stink and my self-esteem and self-confidence just plummets… It’s not helpful at all.
Here’s a list of some of the goal I’m setting myself for day to day use:

  • (As above) Go one full day without any junk food, such as ice cream, chocolate, confectionary etc.
  • Be active for at least 30 minutes
  • Do something nice for myself such as a muscle soak bubble bath
  • Get at least 30 minutes of fresh air
  • (For weekends and holidays) Learn how to garden and do it for 1 hour
  • Learn how to cook a new, healthy recipe
  • Try a new form of exercise
  • Take the dog for a 1 hour walk
  • Teach a friend a new form of exercise
  • Attend a yoga class (although they are hard to come by in this small town)
  • Do 1 hour of strength training
  • Go one full day without any beverages other than water (although aside from water the only thing I drink is cranberry juice or Inka [a caffeine free coffee substitute])
  • Implement a proper skin care routine
  • Go one full day without bread (not because I’m against carbs, but because it presents the opportunity to be more creative with my food choices)
  • Try a new healthy breakfast that I’ve never had before

Those are a few of the ideas I’ve come up with and I’ll add to my own personal list when I think of something else. I think these are far more attainable goals that I’ll be able to achieve and as I succeed in these, the bigger picture and the bigger goals will become far more attainable. I’ll also have rewards for success which aren’t food related, things like treating myself to a new bikini or a movie etc.

Oh! Something else I wanted to add to this post is a little nutrition/health tip which was pretty much my FUEL last year/beginning of this year when I was at my fittest and healthiest… GREEN TEA!!! I’m serious, that stuff is like liquid GOLD! It might not taste that great but you honestly get used to it and even start to enjoy it after a while. I love it and usually drink it like it’s crack but lately we haven’t had any and tonight we just bought some new tea bags. I’ve already had two cups in the space of like an hour. It’s so good for you, it’s antioxidant rich, it boosts your energy levels, I found it helped me maintain my weight and I truly believes it even helps with sugar cravings. I’ve also bought White Tea to try and I had a cup and I can’t even tell the difference between it and green tea, but I’ll chug it back until it’s all gone.

Anyways, that’s all from me for tonight folks! Tomorrow I’m spending the day GARDENING and getting our vege garden up to scratch 😀 Very exciting.

Entry filed under: Challenge, Fitness, goals, Health. Tags: , , , , , , .

Willpower is a glorious thing The pleasure of walking, yoga noob + social sport?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kokrorisostotinone  |  September 10, 2010 at 9:10 am

    Good luck!
    I absolutely adore white and green tea. Some brands of white tea taste like liquid diamonds. Pure heaven, no bitter aftertaste at all.

    Reply
    • 2. jennylikestorun  |  September 10, 2010 at 9:17 am

      It’s amazing isn’t it? My favourite drink ever 🙂 In summer AND winter.

      Reply
  • 3. Sharon  |  September 10, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    Green tea rocks! I knock cups of it every day now.

    Reply
    • 4. jennylikestorun  |  September 10, 2010 at 8:26 pm

      That’s great!! 😀 It’s pumped full of antioxidants and I hope it helps boost your energy 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


