To be or not to be… Vegan

September 16, 2010 at 2:01 am 1 comment

Lately I’ve taken a huge interest in Vegan food websites, I spend a great deal of time looking up recipes and planning when I’ll test them out. Some of you might not know this but I was a vegetarian for a year during 2008/2009 and only began eating meat again because it was “easier”, although it did take about 4 months to shift the mental block I’d developed about meat. I’ve never been much of a meat eater in general and I very very rarely eat red meat purely because I don’t like it. I get sick of it after 1 or 2 bites so now I don’t even bother. However, I do love some good chicken or some good fish.

I’ve begun to reconsider my decision about eating meat, but not just meat, animal food products in general. Surprisingly enough this decision is not related to my enormous love of animals (I signed the Peta2 “Veg Pledge” in April 2008 and so began my year long stint of vegetarianism), but it is in fact because I want to experiment with food more. I see being Vegan as a real challenge and I thrive on a challenge. A really good suggestion I read on Oh She Glows (Angela is a Vegan) is when you’re transitioning into veganism, focus less on what you can’t have and more on what you can have. This got me thinking about all the foods that I have in my pantry right now that are staples in a vegan diet and I was amazed at just how much I already have.

These are the things I came up with:

1. Lentils

lentils These are Iron and Protein POWERHOUSES!! They also contain loads of essential vitamins and minerals and are very commonly acknowledged as a vegetarian/vegan diet staple.

2. Beans

beans

Fortunately we have a very vast range of beans in our pantry and the ones pictured above a red kidney beans. Beans are packed with protein and fibre.

3. Nuts

AA026294

Do I even need to explain how great these are?? You should all be eating these regularly anyway, they have a low glycaemic-index, are protein packed and contain essential minerals like Omega-3.

4. Leafy Greens

leafy greens

Things like spinach and silver beet are brilliant sources of Iron and Vitamins and they work WONDERS for your skin complexion.

5. Fruit

fruit

There simply aren’t enough words to express the benefits that fruit have! They’re high in fibre, vitamin C, water and healthy sugars, all of which are crucial to your overall health and wellbeing.

7. Vegetables

vegetables

These are even more important and beneficial than fruit, they contain vitamins, provitamins, carbohydrates, fibre, protein and dietary minerals. Eating plenty of these can help lower your risk of things like heart disease and diabetes.

8. Milk-substitute

soy milk

almond milk

rice_milk

Aaaaaannnddd finally…

9. Herbs and spices

herbs

For added flavour and antioxidants 🙂

I already use every single one of these foods anyway, just not as regularly as you would in a vegan diet and not as creatively. I’m so super excited to dabble in vegan recipes, find my footing and make a very very slow and gradual transition firstly to vegetarianism and then to veganism. I’m not going cold-turkey because I need time to gain knowledge about foods for a vegan diet and the best way to get the most benefits and nutrients out of my food. If I do it right it could mean we save a penny or two as well. I want to do my best to avoid processed dairy substitutes that you buy in packets, I want to keep my diet as organic, non-processed and fresh as possible while remaining healthy and well-sustained.

This new endeavour means more blog posts for you to read as this blog will becoming a lot more food-focused. I’ll post a blog every time I experiment with a new recipe and when I find recipes that I need advice from other like-minded foodies out there.

Stay tuned for more!!

Tonight I’m going to create Vegan tomato and red lentil soup, using a tomato soup recipe I saw in the August issue of Australian Women’s Health, but personalising it and beefing it up by adding red lentils and some extra vegetables. I’m missing one or two ingredients but I’m taking it in my stride and using that as an opportunity to experiment with other things to use instead and still achieve a good result.

I’ll post a blog about it later tonight with the results 😀

If you’d like to post any comments or suggestions you have about this post, I’d love to hear them. Also if you have your own story about transitioning to Veganism please feel free to share! 🙂

Entry filed under: Cooking, Nutrition. Tags: , , , , .

Successful Ultimate Vegan Oatmeal Cookies :D Vegan Tomato and Lentil soup

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. MenuTrinfo, LLC  |  September 16, 2010 at 2:10 am

    I think that it is nice to hear of someone becoming a vegan because they want to be challenged by food. I think that alot of people would benefit from eating vegan or even vegetarian meals every week. Most of the foods you mentioned are staples in everyones houses so making a meal would not require buying more food. I hope that your vegan adventures go well and I look forward to reading more from you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


