Vegan Tomato and Lentil soup

September 16, 2010 at 5:33 am Leave a comment

vegansoup 017

vegansoup 018

This afternoon I took it upon myself to make Vegan soup basing it on a recipe I found in Australian Women’s Health:

vegansoup 003 vegansoup 004
I loved the sound of the Winter Tomato and after reading through the super simple and super short ingredient list, I knew it would be a piece of cake to add whatever I wanted and make swaps to make it a little more filling and make it Vegan. I started in the afternoon because I wasn’t sure that it would turn out right and I wanted to give myself the chance to organise something else for dinner if it totally failed.

The basic changes I made to the recipe were these:

  • I used Soy Milk instead of Cow’s Milk
  • Lite Coconut Cream instead of Greek Yoghurt
  • I added half a cup of washed red lentils
  • I didn’t have any garlic so I added garlic seasoning and Moroccan seasoning instead
  • We didn’t have any bay leaves so I just left that out all together

I was really happy with the result! I must say though I think I’m quite possibly the most unnatural, klutzy cook of anyone I’ve ever met in my entire life, it definitely does NOT come naturally to me. However, being the persistent little devil that I am I cook anyway and just deal with the mess and fails at the end ^.^ This soup definitely needed salt but I detest adding salt to anything so I just put up with it the way it was. Maybe the garlic would’ve added some flavour.

After cooking the soup I went in to my work to drop off my uniform and staff card to finalise my resignation and bought this drop-dead awesome top that I’ve been hanging out for since it hit the racks a couple of weeks ago:

vegansoup 025 
It’s a top from the Sub brand and the moment I laid eyes on it I knew it was perfect for me. If you can’t see it properly it has little tick boxes under each picture with the car crossed out and the bike and the walker with a tick 🙂 Simple, yet effective. The colour had me too.

I’ll try a new recipe tomorrow, I’m going to make some Hummus (I’ve never ever made it myself before) because I just plough through the stuff we buy from the supermarket. I loved the feedback on the last post by the way! Keep it coming 😀

Goodnight!

Entry filed under: Cooking, Nutrition, Vegan/Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , .

To be or not to be… Vegan Red Velvet Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


