Red Velvet Cupcakes

September 17, 2010 at 9:28 am 2 comments

red velvet cupcakes 055

red velvet cupcakes 061

This afternoon I made some tasty (almost vegan) red velvet cupcakes!! I have wanted to try this recipe for so so long and I finally decided to just go ahead and do it. I say “almost vegan” because I actually used a vegan recipe, but the icing has real cream cheese that’s not vegan 😦 So, apart from the icing the muffins are vegan! 😀 Are there any Vegan Kiwi readers out there who know of a good vegan Cream Cheese substitute? We don’t have fancy things like Tofu Cream Cheese substitute… It’s pretty lame the small range we have actually.

I went to the supermarket to buy the extra ingredients I needed and also buy some other ingredients (like rice milk, pumpkin, nuts, garlic and tofu) for other recipes I have planned. Tomorrow I’m going to try Pumpkin Scones again with actual pumpkin this time! Haha. I also want to bake more Vegan Oatmeal biscuits. They were a real hit with my family and totally delicious! Although they turned green after two days and I’m not entirely sure why… :/

Anyway, after spending 40 minutes at the supermarket for like, TEN things I finally got most of what I needed (but no cream cheese substitute unfortunately) and it all came to a total of $40 exactly. After the supermarket I popped around to my friends house briefly to pick up a Pilates/Yoga book she’s lending me. Until I can find the time to attend a yoga class I’ll just have to work from the book. Once I got home I charged my camera batteries up and set to work!

Recipe for Red Velvet Vegan Cupcakes
(based on recipe off Mac & Cheese)

Ingredients:

Cakes

2 cups soy milk
2 teaspoons cider vinegar
2.5 cups flour
2 cups sugar
4 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup olive oil
2 tbsp apple sauce
Red food colouring
4 tsp vanilla essence

Frosting

1/2 cup margarine
1/2 Cream cheese (this was what killed the vegan buzz)
2 tsp vanilla essence
4 cups icing sugar

NOTE: don’t forget to buy cupcake liners at the supermarket!

red velvet cupcakes 002

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 180C on fan-forced. Add the vinegar to the soy milk and set aside to curdle

red velvet cupcakes 008
2. Sift dry ingredients in a large bowl and mix

red velvet cupcakes 010
3. Add olive oil, food colouring and vanilla extract to the soy milk and vinegar. Add food colouring as you wish until the mixture reaches a dark red colour

red velvet cupcakes 012
4. Pour liquid ingredients into dry ingredients and mix (don’t worry if you have lumps, it’s fine like that)

5. Fill cupcake liners 3/4 full

red velvet cupcakes 014
6. Bake at 180C for 20 minutes or until you can poke a skewer down the middle and it comes out clean. (I suggest putting your oven to fan-forced because this mixture made 32 cupcakes for me which meant I had two trays in at the same time and then another batch once those were finished)

red velvet cupcakes 016
7. Remove the cupcakes when they’re finished and allow to cool for 10-20 minutes

 red velvet cupcakes 022

red velvet cupcakes 030

8. Once they have cooled, start making the icing by creaming the margarine, cream cheese and vanilla essence with beaters. Slowly mix in the icing sugar (because otherwise it goes everywhere) and beat until the icing is smooth and fluffy.

red velvet cupcakes 047 red velvet cupcakes 049

9. Use a spatula to swirl the icing around the top of the cupcakes and put a raspberry lolly in the centre. Then best of all… Eat and enjoy!!! 😀

red velvet cupcakes 065

I had so much fun making these and they were so almost entirely vegan!! Argh, stupid lack of dairy substitutes 😡
Anyway, now I have 30 cupcakes and I certainly do not intend to eat them all myself. Tomorrow I’m going on “cupcake run” of sorts to deliver cupcakes to my friends haha, in the pouring rain… Yes, a storm the size of Australia has hit little ole’ New Zealand.

Tonight I found baking so incredibly therapeutic… It’s been pouring with rain coupled with gail-force winds, the T.V signal was lost so all there was was me, my spatula, frosting the cupcakes and it was so nice.. Tomorrow I plan to spend the day in the kitchen making the scones as promised and biscuits if I get the time 🙂 Oh, hopefully I’ll fit in some yoga here and there haha. Who knew I’d become such a foodie? I’ve always hated cooking and baking because I’ve never been a natural. I’m a real klutz, I spill stuff, fog up my glasses, drop stuff, break stuff, forget stuff (usually vital ingredients like BAKING POWDER) and more… But I’ve been persisting and it would appear my persistence is beginning to pay off.

I hope you have as much fun with this recipe as I did, and seriously don’t be afraid to play around with the ingredients and make substitutions. It adds to the excitement!

Goodnight 🙂

Entry filed under: baking, Nutrition, Vegan/Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , .

Vegan Tomato and Lentil soup Love Yoga

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rhiannon  |  September 18, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    You used to be able to buy vegan cream cheese at New World. Think it was the ‘King land’ brand. Perhaps they’ve stopped stocking it though? You could buy it online, I see there are quite a few websites that stock it and will deliver.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


