Homemade Larabars

September 20, 2010 at 9:22 am Leave a comment

larabars 039

larabars 036

Tonight I made homemade Larabars using my own recipe, based off one I got off Oh She Glows.

larabar I used the basic proportions although I made a double mix (which ended up being 4 very small bars) and I just changed the ingredients to suit what I had. What I love about Larabars is that they are both raw AND vegan. Each Larabar in the store has a maximum of 3 ingredients, usually just things like Dates and nuts etc, it’s really great to know that what you’re eating isn’t processed crap. Unfortunately however they cost almost $5 per bar and therefore they’re not something I can afford to have on a regular basis. This in mind I jumped at the chance to have a go at making my own!

larabars 049

The ingredients I used were:

  • 1/2 cup of chopped dates (I chopped them myself)
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 2/3 cup peanuts
  • 2 teaspoons peanut oil

It was so simple, I added 1.5 teaspoons of oil to the coconut and dates in the food processor and then once I’d processed the nuts and added them to the dates and coconut I added a further 1/2 teaspoon.

I was a little disappointed at how little they were despite having made a double-mixture :/ oh well, they should be good for four school lunches. I’m trying to be more creative with my lunches to avoid processed things like spreads, muesli bars etc. I would like to keep it as raw and vegan as I can while I experiment with vegan food. Keep in mind that I am NOT a vegan, I’m still eating meat and dairy products, I just have an interest in veganism and am investigating the foods and how to do veganism properly because I am interested in slowly transitioning to veganism over time.

I haven’t tasted the bars yet, but I don’t think they’ll be very sweet, but that’s ok. Adding sugar and salt to foods that I deem unnecessary additives is something I profusely detest and therefore I shall not be adding any 🙂

Anyway, I had a shocking nights sleep last night which I blame on the coffee cupcakes :/ I had A LOT of the mixture and it was quite highly caffeinated.  I was wide awake staring at the roof until 3am to which I had a 6am wake up 😦

Tonight I will hopefully sleep better and wake up early to do some early morning Sun Salutations.

I’m off to bed with some “light” reading 😉 Goodnight!
larabars 029

Entry filed under: baking, Vegan/Vegetarian, Yoga. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Coffee Raisin Cupcakes Blueberry Muffins

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


