“Food must be made with love, you can taste it if it’s not”

September 25, 2010 at 2:08 am Leave a comment

thai pumpkin soup   chocolate blueberry cake 010thai pumpkin soup   chocolate blueberry cake 014

That right there my friends, is Vegan Chocolate-Blueberry cake from FatFree Vegan Kitchen. I was searching for a vegan recipe to make for lunch and during my search I stumbled upon this recipe. I had planned to make Vegan Pizza for lunch but I was so compelled to make this cake that I had PB + J toast instead for lunch and got straight onto the cake.

I was very interested to give this a go because I’ve never before made a cake that doesn’t use milk, eggs or butter. Also the fact that this cake is fat free (but has A LOT of maple syrup – do not be fooled people, that still counts as major calories) was hugely enticing to me. From the moment the cake went into the oven I was excited and it wasn’t long before the delicious aroma of baking began to fill my nostrils. It baked for half an hour and I was very eager to taste it, I let it cool for 15-20 minutes and then cut a slice and drizzled maple syrup over the top. It’s supposed to be served with blueberries but we only have frozen blueberries so I opted to have the syrup alone.

Unfortunately this cake didn’t taste as great as it looks or smells, but I guess since it has no butter it came out well. In future I wouldn’t use wholemeal flour because it created an odd texture. Plain white flour would most probably be better. I’m not sure that I’d make this cake again because there are so many other delicious vegan/vegetarian dessert options. I’d be more inclined to go for fruit salad or something similar. However, for one who loves chocolate and cake and is considering veganism, this wasn’t a bad substitute.

Recipe_for_Life_TPB__final_cover_version

The title of my blog is a quote that made quite an impact on me from this book that I’m reading right now. I was in the school library the other day browsing for a book to read and since I’m horrible at picking a book I chose this one for the fact it combines two of my favourite things:

1. Food

2. Italians

🙂 That sounds so silly, but I miss my Italian brother Tommaso soooo much, I picked this book with him in mind.

tommaso
Anyway, I’ve been SO inspired by this book it’s insane!! I have so many new ideas for food and I’m so keen to experiment with new flavours and the freshest of fresh foods. I love the heart and soul in the book, it perfectly encompasses my attitude towards cooking. Tonight I’m going to try stir fried vegetables with marinated tofu and couscous. I want to cook the vegetables in olive oil, lemon juice, herbs and spices. I want to keep it as simple yet delicious as possible.

If you’re looking for a good read and you love food, I highly recommend this book.

Anyway, the other night I cooked Pumpkin Thai Soup but I didn’t get any good photos of it so I won’t post it. I was missing a few ingredients so it lacked that little something-something. I might try it again with the proper ingredients.

Hope all is well and that everyone’s been enjoying their first day of the school holidays.

Ciao!

Entry filed under: baking, Cooking, Nutrition, Vegan/Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , .

Blueberry Muffins Vegan Tofu and Vegetable Stir-fry

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


