Blue sky and Pumpkin Pie

October 2, 2010 at 1:34 am Leave a comment

pumpkin pie 004

:O What is that? I hear you ask… Why… It’s BLUE SKY!!!! Lots and lots of glorious blue sky!!!

pumpkin pie 005
Blue sky that’s lasted all day 😀 I’m so happy to see blue sky that I keep looking outside just to make sure it’s still there haha. I decided to spend this beautiful day cooking with all the doors and windows wide open, it was AMAZING. Coco enjoyed it too 😀 (She went for a swim in her water bowl lol)

pumpkin pie 002

Today I baked and ate for the first time ever, a Pumpkin Pie. I made everything completely from scratch including the pastry and since canned pumpkin isn’t available in New Zealand I cooked and mashed a real pumpkin.

pumpkin pie 012 pumpkin pie 013

All was going well until I read the recipe again and realised we didn’t have any evaporated milk!! I had never used that ingredient in anything before and wouldn’t have been able to complete the recipe without it. I made a mad dash down to the supermarket on Mum’s bike to grab a tin as quickly as possible. It took longer than I’d hoped because I had no idea what I was looking for because I didn’t know what it looked like and even the supermarket assistant didn’t know. Eventually however I spotted the cans hiding beside the condensed milk 🙂 YAY!

pumpkin pie 010

Everything went swimmingly after that, although I was terrified the whole time I was making the pastry because I’ve never ever made pastry before. I didn’t want to overwork it and make it tough or put in too much water. It turned out great though! The kitchen looked like a bomb had gone off when I was done though…

pumpkin pie 014 pumpkin pie 016 pumpkin pie 017 pumpkin pie 018

The pie went in the oven for 65 minutes, during which I cleaned up the enormous mess and cooked lunch for my Mum and Step-Dad. It was yummy too! It was stir-fried tofu and vegetables with noodles. Nom nom nom. Just as we were sitting down to eat the pie was ready to come out, it was perfect timing, it would have time to cool whilst we ate lunch and then we could have it afterwards.

pumpkin pie 021

Now I’ve never made a pie before OR tasted pumpkin pie so I had no idea what this was meant to taste or look like. I think I did a pretty good job though considering!

pumpkin pie 025

(It’s gooey at the end because it hadn’t cooled enough) It tasted AMAZING!!! The pastry was really nice too 😀 I was so so pleased with the outcome.

pumpkin pie 027

So there you have it! Successful Pumpkin Pie 🙂 Nana will be proud, it was her recipe I used ^.^ I cooked a fab breakfast for myself this morning, eggs in a basket. It was yummmyyyy.

I don’t think I’m going to do much cooking tonight haha, I’ve been in the kitchen since 8.30 am potting around and cooking things. It’s now 2.30 pm lol.

Have a good afternoon!

Entry filed under: baking, Cooking. Tags: , , , , , .

Successful Vegetable Broth Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge Sundae

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Introducing…

Hey there, my name's Jenny. I have a huge passion for cooking/baking, writing, yoga and photography. I love nature and my favourite thing to do is spend an entire day outside, breathing in crisp, fresh air. Even better if I have a pen and paper with me. I started out running in March 2009 but sustained an injury in October 2009 which has unfortunately prevented me from running. I've been experimenting with other kinds of exercise to find another one that clicks. Follow me on my journey to maintaining good health + surviving high school and pursuing a career in Journalism. I Hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Questions? Comments? Email me at jennyeatliverun@hotmail.com

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.


